Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Cinderella Man (2005) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Cinderella Man (2005) DVD from AmazonBuy Cinderella Man (2005) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

mitchellyoung 07/17/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Although the film's underdog themes have been done to much better effect in other films (even many boxing films,) the movie still manages to bring some emotionally-worthy scenes, thanks mostly to the skillful cast and director. Giamatti, of all the cast, seems to dig the deepest into his character and has some of the film's best moments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Inspirational boxing biography. There's nothing new here, but it is a well made film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

lisa wa 05/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This was an inspring story that kept my interest the whole time. I usually don't go for sports films, but the thing that made it different was the use of real hardships of history mixed in with the sports aspect. The drama was good as well because it wasn't the usual meaningless drama that is put into chick flicks. The acting was really good too. Russell Crowe was really cool and Paul Giamatti was hilarious. It was a worthwhile film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/20/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie had a lot excellent qualities to it. But, I kinda thought that the whole "beaten man gets back up" theme was a bit overdone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Another stunning performance by Crowe. This is a touching, inspiring and exciting story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Neobowler 10/02/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of the better acted movies that I have seen. My little mind somehow didn't know any of the story before I watched the film, I since have read about it and the reasons that people critisized this film is such a joke. If you are one of those people watch the movie again and realize you are wrong. Max Bahr was not put in a bad light and when you go by the word of his son who was a child at the time and didn't know how his father was, you are simplly an idiot.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 08/05/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is definitely a feel good movie that tries to put you in Braddock?s place. While I felt the movie was great a times, at others it was typical of Howard with over the top musical score and Zellweger over acting her heart out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 08/01/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I really have a hard time finding a movie that Ron Howard had a hand in that I don't like. This movie is one that stands out among all of the other Drama movies that I have seen in the last few years as one with a story that really reaches out on a strong emotional level. The characters are built in such a way that you can't help but struggle along with them. While there have been many movies about the depression this one is a movie of triumph. Russell Crowe, Renee Zellweger, and Paul Giamatti are amazing and they bring the story of James Braddock's life into a perspective that most people haven't seen or heard before. I really enjoyed this movie, and I could watch it many times over.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 02/08/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is just a great story of hardship and triumph. I really cared for all the characters and at times didn't think everything was going to turn out the way it did. The heart felt journey was effective and not overdone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy