Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Cast Away (2000) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Cast Away (2000) DVD from AmazonBuy Cast Away (2000) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 25 

Matthew Brady 08/06/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The story is about a man who is flying over an ocean has plane troubles as he crash lands on a deserted island. He struggles to survive. I don't know why but I like it when a character is all alone and trying to survive on his owe, it feels more relaxing and this movie nails it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 11/26/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

One of Tom Hank's best performances of his career. The story is simple and could be dragged down by a poor actor. I mean there are not many actors who can make the only character for the bulk of the movie interesting. He allows the viewer to capture the emotions and thoughts he is feeling without having any dialogue between two people (except Wilson). This movie does a great job of portraying someone stuck on an island alone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

The beginning and the ending are interesting - the first for the intense tragedy it portrays and the latter for the openended question it presents. The middle, however, is uneven - sometimes captivating, and sometimes lagging. Tom Hanks, alone, on an island, can only sustain a film for so long and Castaway tries its length too much.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A sort of one man show for Hanks. I really did believe he was alone on that island.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

BORING.I couldnt even get through the whole movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheHitchcockAffair 11/07/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Although I appreciate Tom Hanks as a leading man, and as much as I respect Zemeckis, I can not endorse this picture. For me, it felt more like some tropical fantasy tale versus anything to be taken seriously. I found myself distracted by falling coconuts, drifting volleyballs, and cave writings. It was a real challenge to even sit through the entire film. Overrated and way too over-hyped! Sorry~C!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 09/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Only with Tom Hanks can you make a movie a 2 and a half hour movie where out of the entire 2 1/2 hours 2 of them are Tom Hanks alone on and island and those 2 hours are still absolutely brilliant (wow that was a run on!). He is one of THE TRUE ACTORS of this generation.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

myfaja 08/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

They said it was risky to have one character throughout the whole movie. But with an actor like Tom Hanks, how can you go wrong? You can't. Cast Away is an amazing movie. It's kind of like 2001. It so quiet that sometimes, you just get lost in it. There is probably more character development in this movie than in any other movie I've seen, and there's pretty much one character! The character from the beginning of the movie and the character in the end seem like two completely different people. Don't try to deny the fact that you were at least a little sad when he lost Wilson. It is underrated and was snubbed. My suggestion: See it. I don't care how, rent it, buy, get it off netflix or whatever. Just see it, you won't regret it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Great film. The only problem I had with it was... NO WILDLIFE ON THE ISLAND!!!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 10/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Great film. The only problem I had with it was... NO WILDLIFE ON THE ISLAND!!!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Movie List by SIngli6

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy