Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Casablanca (1942) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Casablanca (1942) DVD from AmazonBuy Casablanca (1942) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

mitchellyoung 03/03/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Casablanca is truly one of the all-time greats. From the smart and revealing dialogue to the noirish setting, the film is spectacular in the way it crafts a unique world of espionage and spoiled romance. All of the principal leads are equally memorable, though Humphrey Bogart gets the lion's share of the script's iconic lines.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Some good dialogue and acting, in a story of past romance and political dealings. I give this film points for it's competence and great ending, but I just didn't care much for it the way most everyone seems to.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 09/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I'm not sure why I waited so long to see this movie, but this film truly deserves it's status as one of the greatest films in of all time. The fact that you can watch something made 70 years ago and see it still hold up today is a true feat. The story is engaging, the dialogue crisp, the characters intriguing, and the climax heartbreaking. Truly one of the greats.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Members of my generation already know the ending and its status as "Classic Romance Film Prototype" begs to be disputed. That Casablanca still manages to impress shows not only what an excellent movie it is, but also what movies could be. The scene where they sing "Marseillaise" was my favorite.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A cinematic classic, nothing beats the film noir style than the original film noir "Casablanca." However, I will not give credit where it is not deserved, the film was overdone much in the way that 1940s films were, leading to over-dramatization. If dealt with in a more artistic manner, the film would have been better suited to modern audiences and even audiences of the future.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 09/16/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

While it's not my favorite movie of all time, it is the movie that I consider to be the greatest movie ever made. A definite must see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

3SntnceRvws! 06/02/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The lost art of turning one simple historical contingency into a touching and endearing work of moral and ethical being is alive and well here. This cannot be duplicated, remade, or easily xeroxed as many immitators have tried. This may be the finest piece of political drama ever via the beyond superb acting, plot, and development through Curtiz's genius lense.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

bahamutthegf2005 03/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Masterful, a timeless classic, with so many quotables. One of the best movies of all time

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

kjack16 12/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

one of the best romances in the history of movies. yes it is a bit overrated but still a great movie that everybody should see once. its a movie that you fall in love with. its got great acting with both Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman staring. its got the magic of old films that todays movies lack. if you are looking for a truley great romantic classic go with casablanca.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 12/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A film that oddly grew on me extensively the second time that I viewed. It is a bit overrated still, and I think that is what partially bothered me the first time. The film though after you have grown use to it, really has some magnificent moments, which are truly classic. The plot really does have some holes but that ends up not mattering because it has its unique characters, and its incredibly unique setting. The film might have fallen short the first time, but it is one that simply requires extra viewing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Films of 2013 by Neobowler
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Top Movie List by Michael
2017 Movies by Mr Cinema
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy