Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Brazil (1985) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Brazil (1985) DVD from AmazonBuy Brazil (1985) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

SIngli6 03/27/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An inspired satire of bureaucracy and totalitarianism that exudes a passion for cinema from every frame. An Orwellian carnivāle!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Goombs 02/19/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Actually pretty boring. I bought the criterion 3 disc box set of this on a whim at my local used movie store and played the extended version as soon as I got home. I was left completely un-amused. Even De Niro couldn't big up this piece of crap. I don't know why it is considered a classic and Waterworld is considered trash. It will gather dust on my shelf till it is considered out of print then ill ebay it. Don't waste your time on two hours of completely overrated material.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/10/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A 1984-ish government encases Sam Lowry who dreams of falling in love with a normal woman. He encounters many obstacles while trying to meet her and do what is right and lawful. This movie is odd and strange but I think that's the way that Terry Gilliam whats he's movies to be.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/19/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Messy and sometimes incomprehensible. I didn't find the social/political satire here, but I did laugh at the random dark humor. The imaginative visuals are fantastic and the genre mashing worked well enough. An oddly entertaining piece that I feel I may appreciate after multiple viewings.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is an expansive and genre bending film, something unlike anything Terry Gilliam's other work. The film combine's elements of dark comedy, social commentary, political satire, and sci-fi fantasy. The film's visuals are striking, but they serve to underline the film's more thoughtful, and powerful themes.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Bob Stone 05/08/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

It's definatley not perfect; narativley its pretty slim and it's over-long by about half an hour, but Terry Gilliam's Brazil is a brilliantly realized and visually unforgettable film that starts off quirky and off beat and ends intense and incediary,probably Gilliam's best and one of the top film's of the 80's; probably most akin to Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange,which is similar in tone and style.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 04/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Started great and then petered out. :/ Really didn't like the female lead/love interest.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A wacky movie. Not the best, but worth watching.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Terry Gilliam makes films that are unforgettable because they are so unique. Brazil is a dystopia where bureaucracy rules. A very dark comedy and one that, unfortunately, doesn't feel so far removed from out world today.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/04/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A very dark comedy that upon first viewing you miss the true beauty of the film. I love this movie more each time I see it. It is very beautiful, well acted, well scripted and shows Gilliam?s true expertise. Although "12 Monkeys" and this are so different, "12" is slightly better than this but only because I saw it first.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Top Movie List by Ben
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Michael
2014 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy