Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Blair Witch Project (1999) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Blair Witch Project (1999) DVD from AmazonBuy The Blair Witch Project (1999) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Snoogans 08/26/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This is by no means great material, but it does what the vast majority of imitators failed to deliver in it's wake; it feels 100% close to reality. When I look at this film, all I see is some young people playing movie director and having the worst time. The urban legend basis for their film project gives a solid setup to the whole proceedings and offers a very understated uneasy tone. I was interested all the way to the end, despite the lack of scares. The ending delivers the one true scare, leaving us with an abrupt send off that lingers after viewing. An interesting experiment that pays off to a mild point.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/22/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Three young stupid filmmakers set out to investigate the legend of the Blair Witch in the town of Burkittsville, Maryland. This movie is really slow and not scary at all. the movie is better then other bad found footage films at they but this movie is still bad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

This movie was important for the "found-footage" genre, but was very weak and not scary at all. I still have no idea what I watched and found it to be shallow and quite stupid. I am jealous that these people made as much money as they did on this film. I wish I could spend $300 bucks for a camera, make a terrible movie and get back Millions. It isn't a must-see movie, but it is historical because it really opened the door for the genre.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/29/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

A real victory of hype over quality. The acting is poor, there is little suspense (I'm sorry, but what exactly is scary about piles of twigs) and it's basically a straight rip off of the earlier and better The Last Broadcast.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Kyle(The Rebel)  08/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie seems so real, and that's why it's so damned terrifying. Outstanding acting, direction and eerie scenery combine to make this a top knotch chiller!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

talwahfrench 12/12/2011 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I admit that I only made it through the first hour of the movie because my head was hurting so much for the shaking camera and screaming from the terrible characters. I wanted to strangle all three college kids and ask them why the hell they were standing around bickering the entire time if they really wanted to get out of the woods. Maybe the second half o the movie is better, but I don't see how anyone could make it to the second half. I don't understand how this became a classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jenna 08/10/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film is an exceptional, timeless classic. Unlike Paranormal Activity, the theme of documentation is superb and 100% believable. I wouldn't call it scary, but maybe a bit chilling in it's brilliant morbidity. This movie is fascinating from start to finish, never a dull moment. It gets a bad rap sometimes, but I believe the reason behind that is the disappointment we all felt in about 1998 when we discovered this film was 100% fabricated. However, I can't be swayed, a spectacular film is a spectacular film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/07/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

There's a little too much whining and bickering in this horror classic (maybe a little too realistic?), but once it gets going, the second half never lets up and the last five minutes or so are purely terrifying. Undeniably one of the best of the "found footage" genre, and made before the concept became played out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/12/2010 (2 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I know that everyone hates this movie. But, tell the truth now, when it first came out, you loved it and you know it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

BmovieJosh 09/28/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I gave this film what I gave it because I respect it. It is the highest profitting independent film ever made. It started a lot of new things for film and I respect that. Oh by the way, this movie sucks.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy