Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Big Fish (2003) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Big Fish (2003) DVD from AmazonBuy Big Fish (2003) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 

Matthew Brady 09/14/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Tim Burton's Big Fish is touching, beautiful, imaginative and a fairly tale worth seeing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/21/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A visual departure from Burton's usual darker, or offset, color pallet. This is an unexpectedly bright fantasy drama. The narrative is essentially a collection of fables told from one man. All of them being fantastical tellings of his actual life events. The father/son relationship is poised as the emotional core of the film and it just doesn't hold. I found that the stories were entertaining in individual nature, but the collection doesn't connect at all with the dramatically mundane present day part of film. I enjoy the short doses of creativity and not much else.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was expecting this to be a great movie. I have seen this on many top lists for various categories, and Burton made it a must-see for me. Unfortunately, the movie failed to deliver on all fronts. I found the plot, characters, and twists to be very stale and forced. I felt like I was a teenager being told stories about Santa Claus. The magical factor just didn't it me. The ending though jumped my rating up 1 star, because it was a great way to end it. Other than that, this is a movie that can be passed by.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 06/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Surprisingly (especially considering the pedigree Tim Burton has with gothic fairytales) the fantasy elements of the story failed to engage me as much as the more economically handled modern day "real world" part of the story. Always pleasant and mildly amusing, but rarely more than that, this film seems like the whole is less than the sum of its parts. Well worth persevering with for the heartwarming finale though.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 03/12/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Situated in a conflict of a father and a son, "Big Fish" is a story of both what is real and what is close to reality. Will Bloom, the son, refused to talk to his father Edward Bloom whom he thought told him stories of a non-real world. As Will comes back to his father, he discovers the world he never thought to be true. *** Clearly, the strength of this film is its story. Tim Burton executed it brilliantly while Ewan McGregor contributed to its over-all entertainment value. This film is simply beautiful, no question.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gzn 11/28/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A film that stands in its own right against the equally wonderful book from which it sprang. This is a poignant film that asks big questions about our perceptions of ourself and others, and about the narratives we weave in order to make sense of life. The casting is perfect with Ewan McGregor turning out another faultless characterisation and Albert Finney making irascibility a winning trait. This film is enchanting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jenna 07/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Said to be a modern day type of "Wizard of Oz" flick, in some ways, it's better. It's more captivating, with more interesting flashbacks and very visually different scenes. It's one of those films that are just impossible to forget. Brilliant cast and amazing story that only the legendary Tim Burton could think up. It's like a highly satisfying work of art; some amazing images.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

One of Tim Burton's more whimsical films, Big Fish is, like most Burton films, always entrancingly beautfiul and visually brilliant. It does wear thin, plot-wise, at times and some of the odd characters don't quite hit their mark, but the film is surely very memorable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nerva 03/27/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is breathtaking. The way they chose to shoot this, as flashbacks of child hood tales makes this completely unique. They were then able to use effects in ways no normal movie could get away with without killing the realism. This movie was fantastic. The story, the effects, the acting. Everything in this movie was gold. It's unfortunate that this is more of a cult hit than a mainstream one as it deserves much more credit.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

ML_Lean 03/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

very nice movie,,, it may be a bit closely related to Forest Gump (1994). where Bloom also narrates his life story.. I like this movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse
Top Films of 1969 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy