Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Invention of Lying (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Invention of Lying (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy The Invention of Lying (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Ian 09/25/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Started quite strong with a lot of laughs, but after about 15 minutes it became just another romantic comedy. I quickly lost interest.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/22/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

In a world where no one has ever lied, a writer discovers how to deceive and uses it for personal gain. This movie started of slow and I didn't understand it at the first but then the movie got better as it went a long.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Kaileigh 10/05/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I am very surprised at some of the bad reviews this movie has got on this website. It is a thinly veiled attack on religion, but I don't think there was ever any intention to be subtle. It is a funny and poetic film that aims to make people think more deeply about religion.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

This movie was god awful. I have wanted t like Gervais movies because I am such a big 'Office' fan, but every single one is horrible. I had to force myself to appreciate the humor in the beginning where people spurt out every random thought that pops into there head. After that it go even worse. Gervais is an Atheist, which is obvious as he mocks religion in an extremely forced fashion, that makes him look like a spineless loser who feels that he needs to be as stubborn and short-sighted as the religion's he condemns.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 08/24/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I cant count how many times I fell asleep while watching this flick

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 04/05/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

While it may have bitten off more than it could ever have hoped to chew, 'The Invention of Lying' is still one of the most observant and witty films of 2009. Watch out for cameos from an almost unrecognizable Edward Norton, and a recognizable, though hilarious, Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

myfaja 08/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

They had a good idea, but they ruined it. The people don't even "not lie" they just talk too much. The waiter didn't HAVE to tell him she was way out of his league, not saying it wouldn't exactly making him a liar. I also thought the part when his mom dies, was kind of depressing. It's the kind of thing you'd expect from a Clint Eastwood movie. It had its good parts where it made you laugh a bit, but not good enough. I thought the movie had potential, but failed to fulfill it. Finally, how the hell did no one else EVER discover lying. I find that stupid. Anyways, that wasn't a great review, it was just me rambliing on but there you go.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 07/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The best part of this film is all the cameos: Philip Seymour Hoffman, Edward Norton, Jason Bateman, Christopher Guest, Fionnula Flanagan - big parts, small parts they just pop in. The story itself is merely OK - it's funny in parts, but drags at others. But the cameos - fantastic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 04/16/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It was very clever; the theme was particularly clever. However, my mind just couldn't get over all of the inconsistencies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/09/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An original concept that could've been a formulaic gimmick, but turned into something much more smart and uniquely funny. I enjoyed it a great deal.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy