Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Hurt Locker (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Hurt Locker (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy The Hurt Locker (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 21 

Matthew Brady 07/27/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

As his men struggle to understand his death wish, his true character is revealed that will affect every man. This movie has great acting and brilliant directing by Kathryn Bigelow.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/07/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The best film of 2009 is a harrowing observation on the bravery and resolve of a bomb squad stationed in Iraq. Director Kathryn Bigelow creates moments of true tension without the use of big Hollywood spectacle - a sniper scene is incredibly intense and other sequences of failed bomb disarmings have an air of poignancy. Jeremy Renner gives a breakout performance, but the all-star cast blends chameleon-like into their characters.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/04/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I can see why this movie earned an award for Best Picture.I was hooked each & every second

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 10/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

maybe it is really good but i don't like it. the first few scenes really moved me, that it is really a very dangerous and risky job to be part of an armed force (hail to the armies out there!). watching disarming bombs took my breath away, each and every scene i was expecting for a BOOM! I can say that Bigelow is, indeed, a very good director and that she deserves an academy award. The story, for me, is really outstanding but towards the end, i realized that it is nonsense (?), i mean "yeah! military troops have very hard job.. and then what?" The drama didn't work for me. This is a war movie that makes me bored and thrilled at the same time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Adam Barber 10/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

this was probally one of the best films of the year and i can see why it one a few oscars and getting the oscer over the avatar for the best picture. very original, good potrayal of soliders experiences in the iraq occupation, relatable as it is a recent event, great acting by farily unkown actors well except for guy pearce i would strongly recommend this film to see this year

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 08/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Honestly, I didn't see what was so great about it. Still, its better than Avatar.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

myfaja 08/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Although, it was my third favorite film on the best picture list (behind District 9 and Basterds), there was no doubt in my mind that this would win best picture. Sure, Avatar was innovative, but "The Hurt Locker" won for the same reason "Platoon" won. It was real. It didn't bullshit around like "G.I. Joe" (I hope I never see that movie again), but it was actually based on experiences of a guy who went to Iraq. Jeremy Renner was great, as a ballsy guy who finally gets some sense knocked into him. Actually the whole cast does a really great job. I think I need to watch the ending again, I'm not sure I really got it the first time. So my suggestion is: See it. And if you don't take my word, you're going to end up watching it eventually.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tasha 06/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

okay movie, a little too much hype, but for the fact it's a movie taking place in Iraq, I guess the hype was deserved. Jeremy Renner was awesome to watch and congrats to Kathryn Bigelow

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A war movie devoid of politics, the Hurt Locker is an action packed suspenseful tour de force. Following the actions of a United States Army Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) team in Iraq, the movie captures the chaos, violence and sheer ferocity of been in a warzone. The location shooting is second to none and the journey of the three main characters and their differences is sublime. Free of any subtext and criticism of the war, the Hurt Locker is simply an adrenaline fuelled rollercoaster ride that also happens to be realistic, edgy and intense. Easily the best movie yet about the Iraqi war and arguably one of the finest war movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/03/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gripping, tense, and real. One of the best Iraq war set films and easily worthy of it's 'Best Picture' win.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy