Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Avatar (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Avatar (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Avatar (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

21 - 30 of 30 

opie 01/25/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

this was the sci fi movie of the century go AVATAR

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 01/22/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A piece of crap movie from cinema's biggest asshole James Cameron. Fourteen years in the making certainly did not improve the script or story (which was simply Ferngully IN SPACE). Though visually stunning, the 3D effects of the film added little to the effect of the plot or action. I was highly disappointed by this film and disgusted it has recieved such rave reviews by critics and audiences. Oscar-worthy it is not.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

jameswharper 01/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

On leaving the cinema, my head still spinning with beautiful 3D vistas, I was ready to pronounce this one of my favourite films of all time. I would still concur that it is one of the great movie experiences of all time, replete with at least three or four stunning battle sequences, but there's a shallowness to plot, dialogue and characterisation that leaves me non-plussed on the prospect of a sequel, for example. All said, it's worth three hours of anyone's time, especially with those funny glasses on.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Eva Moly 01/08/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An excellent movie overall, stunning graphics, good story. The tiny plot-holes is the only reason I have to remove half a star to this movie, which should easily win the Oscar for best special effects. James Cameron all the way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

phantom 01/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

so far I've seen this film three times, all in 2D. And you know what? I still loved it. Don't get me wrong I've every intention to see it in 3D. But I don't think 3D is necessary. Its a great story. Cameron gets it, cool technology (3D) should be used as a tool to tell a great story. The technology should not be the main focus. (I'm talkin to you Christmas Carol) This movie is definitely in the Cameron vein. Its really half Aliens, half Abyss. which is a good mix. It the best film I saw in 2009, and definitely in my top 50 films of all time. Go see it, doesn't matter what D you see it in you gotta see it on the big screen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rob Lewboski 01/05/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Hey some people love it some people hate it I think it's some of the best sci fi to hit the screen since Star Wars I love it The CGI is awsome I like the story a whole lot the action is top notch you get everything you want from A action/sci fi film and when you look at some of the other stuff that has come out in years past this is an epic! A must watch film

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 01/05/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Well, James Cameron delivers a huge blockbuster here that's visually appealing. Sadly, underneath all the glitz and glamour is a predictable story and dialogue that makes George Lucas look like Shakespeare. I don't have to explain the plot (what little there is) because plenty of other reviews already have. Visually it's probably the best movie I've seen in terms of effects, but there was so little character development that in the final battle I didn't really care who won. And the dialogue...wow. There were so many times I was wondering if it was supposed to be funny or if Cameron just thought that people really talk this way. In the end, it's great to look at, but has very little substance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nixon's Soul 01/03/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Try "Dances with Wolves" in Space. What was with those land robots, like the one the corporal drove at the end? Wouldn't it be easier to have the guns mounted to the robot itself, instead of making it carry a large-scale automatic rifle? It would be easier to aim and wouldn't get ripped out of its hands by princesses and space panthers. Furthermore, why did the land robots have hunting knives? Avatar was made by the same director of Titanic. That movie's main character was named Jake, I mean Jack. I would so do that alien chick.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/31/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Dear James Cameron, Thank you for taking my $17.50 and making an overlong movie where I yawned a million times in the span of 2 hours and fifty minutes, despite the fact it was 4PM and I had plenty of sleep the night before. The actors weren't that bad, but Signorey Weaver had obviously seen better days with the Alien Trilogy. The dialogue left me cringing and story did nothing for me. Your idea of a futuristic life bores me to tears. No thanks. Love, Allison

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 12/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is plain and simple the best movie of the year. The special effects were absolutely fantastic and that alone makes the film worth seeing. James Cameron is back on top of his game with his best film since Terminator 2. I don't know why you're still reading this if you haven't seen it yet. Go out and see it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
Prev  1  2  3    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Films I've seen in 2018 by aickman
Best Visual Effects by Kjelda
Top Films of 2008 by Neobowler
2014: Best To Worst by Nolane
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Biography Movies by Rod
movies of 2018 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy