Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Sherlock Holmes (2009) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Sherlock Holmes (2009) DVD from AmazonBuy Sherlock Holmes (2009) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

Matthew Brady 02/07/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A new take on the old legend - Sherlock Holmes and the ever-present Watson are still on the case to unravel a nefarious plot to destroy the country, but this time he's just as keen using his fists as his mind. Sherlock is back and ready to make another movie of him in action. Robert Downey Jr. did alright Sherlock but to me Sherlock Holmes is a fast talker, crack head the loves the sound of bars closing in on the murder.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/02/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Bringing his signature kinetic action directing style to a new universe, Guy Ritchie creates a film that shies away from the more philosophical elements of the Holmsian world in lieu of a slick and very entertaining action thriller. The pseudo-dystopian universe is beautifully realized and the action set pieces that frequently populate the film are a marvel to watch. Of course, the film's heart is a charming and lively portrayal by Robert Downey Jr. who hovers between the cockiness of Tony Stark and the wry sarcasm he displayed in Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Owens Film Reviews 10/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of the best Sherlock Holmes films made in my opinion Robert Downey Jr was a fanatastic choice for Sherlock along with his old friend Watson played by Jude Law another amazing choice there was lots of action and the music was good to which is rare in films nowadays. This opens up a whole load of questions for fans of sherlock holmes like how many film will be made will they kill Sherlock off sooner rather than later along with many many more questions..overall a very very good film and one i would recomend to anyone and i certainley can not wait for the second film to be made.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 08/24/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Didnt like the original Sherlock Holmes movies & didnt like this 1 either

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cake 02/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This was a great movie. It's exciting and very interesting. Great acting too, and safe for the whole family to watch. It inspires me for my own book.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Andy89 09/04/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Fresh, humerous and different, this version of Sherlock Holmes was a delight to watch. The relationship between Jude Law and Robert Downey Jr works brilliantly. Ritchie's excellent direction, and a fast-paced screenplay compliment the two stars perfectly.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 06/08/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not a bad movie. I don't mind the updating of Holmes and turning him into a sleuth/action hero for today's audiences. Robert Downey Jr. actually acts in this movie, although there are a few times he does his usual schtick. To be honest, at the end I wasn't quite sure how it came together, but I pretty much shrugged my shoulders and accepted it. I'm not really sure how necessary Rachel McAdams' character was, the plot probably could have still happened without her, and it got pretty distracting hearing her slip in and out of the British accent. As I said, not a bad movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Masood 05/14/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

It's been long since I watched a good adventure movie like this.. You dont get bored watching it n things happen very fast, so u just keep ur eyes on the screen 4 the whole time... Absolutely watchable

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Filmhog 04/25/2010 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I detected a pretty strong gay subtext between Holmes and Watson in this version. Honestly, that was the only thing that kept me interested. Much more action-oriented than cerebral, which isn't really what I want from a Sherlock Holmes film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

rangelnowlin 02/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I never seen the original Sherlock Holmes and I do not know if that would make a difference on my review but I will be renting it soon so maybe this review will get re-edited ? I gave this film 3 stars because I liked the plot,special effects,writing and screen play.Robert Downey Jr has been able to catch my attention in many different films as of the late because of his versatility in the roles he has played. I watched this film with my wife,her brother,his girlfriend,inwhich his girl friend is from London.She helped with my review because I asked her alot of questions about the movie reminding her of home and she said it was quite realistic.We all enjoyed the plot and the humor in Downeys role !

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by hoods_breath
Top Movie List by Ray
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2014 by Karmand
1976 Movies by Mr Cinema
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy