Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Frost/Nixon (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Frost/Nixon (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Frost/Nixon (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Matthew Brady 09/01/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Why didn't you not burn the taps?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This really is a great film. I love that it captures the complexity of not only the Watergate scandal itself, but Nixon's feelings, emotions, thoughts, and regret as well. This is mainly because of Peter Morgan's excellent screenplay; it's powerful and entertaining at all the right moments. Frank Langella and Michael Sheen give really great performances here, and the supporting cast is perfect and rounds the film out nicely. This is a powerful political drama that is also supremely entertaining; it's one of the best films of 2008.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 10/12/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The political background to this drama serves as more of a set-up to a confrontation of two fascinating characters with distinct and separate motivations. Michael Sheen's clever and conniving David Frost is met at each move by the equally devious Richard Nixon (Frank Langella gives a career performance, disappearing into the shoes of the former President.) The film's back-and-forth interview dialogue is great, but so are quieter scenes that portray both characters at their most vulnerable. An interesting character piece with historical ramifications.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 10/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Something to watch

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amyaronson 07/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I am 23. I didn't live through the Watergate Scandal. I don't really know what a great Nixon impersonation looks like. Despite these things, this movie was riveting. It wasn't so much about the Watergate scandal, but more about the aftermath and toll the scandal took on Nixon personally. It also explores the problems with journalism and the power struggle between Frost and Nixon. I love the documentary style of the film. What a great screenplay. What a great cast. Frank Langella and Michael Sheen deserved heaps of recognition for those performances. Wow.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 11/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

As long as you have some patience, this is a worthwhile film. Frank Langella and Michael Sheen are both outstanding as Nixon and Frost respectively. If you're in the mood for political drama, it doesn't get much better than this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Frost/Nixon" is brilliant in its portrayal of some of the most incredible instances in American history. At the helm of this movie is Ron Howard and Frank Langella and Michael Sheen gather their talents with Oliver Platt and Sam Rockwell to create one of the best political dramas in a long time. I loved Langella and the story of Nixon is so incredible to read and watch. I highly recommend this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Movie Man 05/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Frank Langella is the film

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 04/26/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Frank Langella fits the mold of Richard M. Nixon in this energetic and engrossing reenactment of the famous interviews that lead to Nixon's admission of guilt in the Watergate scandal.  Fascinating subject matter, and well told by director Ron Howard.  Final Grade:  B+

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/19/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Not worthy of a nomination, though still not bad. The acting was Amazing and I think they showed how smart Nixon really was. It drug at times and I don't think I will see it again but interesting flick. Did not make me a Howard fan.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall
Top Ten Films of 1974 by KingoftheCorn

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy