Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

W. (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy W. (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy W. (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Chris Kavan 02/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

If you see this for any reason, no matter your political viewpoint, see it for the excellent casting and spot-on performances. The story is only so-so, sure it hits some of the highlights (or low points) but it seems more of a glance than a deep picture.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 01/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A brilliant look at the life and times of George W. Bush. The film explores so much about him that you even go as far as to pity the idiot! One of Stone's best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

revmem 04/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A film that was all over the place with mixed messages about W. and his surrounding characters. Too much was left out, I think. I'd give it 4 stars for casting and acting, and that's the only reason I rank this as high as I do, because that's most of what makes it enjoyable to watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 09/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I see potential but yet at the same time, it is too much like SNL. Also, not much is known about how true it is. Stone has lost it but at least he tried. I would rather see a better one in 25 years.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Movie Man 05/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Well Made with a Good Script and very Good Performances. Josh Brolin, Richard Dreyfuss and Thandie Newton are all three good and the film is very well told and entertaining, but there are some parts that are not necessary to a film like this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alexa 03/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Josh Brolin shows why he is one of the best working actors today. I was surprise to learn that they didn't make fun of W. like I thought they were going to make fun of W. Oliver Stone just pointed out the obvious. Really great dialog that kept me listening and paying attention throughout the entire film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Essi Suomela 03/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

This movie was totally pointless. I donīt know what Oliver Stone tried to say with it; Iīm guessing nothing. There were no clear point of you, it was just a story about a man who runs for president. I thought it was insulting to watch Bush being turn into a sympathetic person. Also Thandie Newton went totally over board with her interpretation of Condoleezza Rice and Mr. Fantastic as Tony Blair, give me a break!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 02/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

If there is any reason for watching this, it is for seeing Josh imitate our former president. Watching him play W. is the highlight of the film. While the scenes that show a younger Bush are interesting and fun to watch, the ones that take place sometime right after 911 are not. I think that they should have not spent so much time on that one day and covered more of his term as president.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 11/14/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Well this film is actually an Oliver Stone film I liked a little bit more than others. Although I still did not like it too much to give it 3 stars. The film though is at least humorous and has two good performances, although no one else is really given much development to let you know much about them. The two good ones are Dick Cheney and Bush himself, I felt even the senior bush was just given a stereotypical stern father characterization. The other problems with the film is that you just do not get to know the full idea of the subject, this is probably because Stone does not know it himself. This is better I feel than Nixon because Stone strives for a little more accuracy and this includes the main performance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 10/23/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An interesting study of George W. Bush that focuses and skips around at various points in his life, with a huge emphasis on W. trying to measure up to his father's impossbily high standards. A good chunk is spent on W's decision to invade Iraq and how his team determined how to go about this. Pretty good performances all around, from Brolin as W who really embodies the character. I was really impressed with Richard Dreyfuss' Dic Cheney, who was so believable it was scary. You might even walk out feeling a little sorry for W.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy