Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Fall, The (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Fall, The (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Fall, The (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Rjpatt 12/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gorgeous movie with great acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Don't expect to find a well-defined, story-rich film in watching The Fall. The Fall is, chiefly, a visual masterpiece and, as a work of visual art, it is interpretative by its audience. Director Tarsem creates striking and memorable imagery that plays with concepts of storytelling, imagination, and redemption. It's unforgettable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 05/27/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The film as you may already have heard, looks stunning. It really does. But does that make it a good movie? It certainly helps, but as it is, its an affecting piece of cinema. The story of a young girl with a broken arm seeking solace in another patient is touching. The the patient (Lee Pace) tells the little girl a fairytale which is acted out with flashy characters and flashier visuals, and takes up half the movie. And thats the problem, while its a good story being told, the scenes in the hospital are much more engrossing. The performance from little Catinca Untaru is just beautiful, and Lee Pace as her storytelling friend is equally great. Overall, its a very good movie but not completely great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TommyL31 04/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This movie was quite interesting. I thought the visuals were breathtaking and inventive and I really enjoyed the storytelling aspect. I also applaud the movie for a nice balance of story telling and real life. I think there could have been a more well thought out and/or longer story even if it meant a longer movie but overall it was well done. I found the movie hard to follow at times and there could have been more character development but the last scene(s) are excellent.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 09/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Obviously influenced by the work of Salvador Dali, this gorgeous-looking epic tale has some startling images but very little story to give it momentum, though it's hardly a complaint when you can easily get lost in all the beauty. Final Grade: B

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

danand82 09/07/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A captivatingly beautiful film, on a grand scale. The casual brutality of Tarsem's previous film The Cell is tempered this time by filtering the story through the imagination of a child. The images are sometimes uncanny, sometimes shocking but always awe-inspiring. Perhaps the story itself could have been a little more solid, especially in the final act but the impressively natural performances of the 2 main stars as well as a number of standout sequences (including an impressively fluid stop motion scene) are enough to make The Fall genuinely memorable. Truly extra-ordinary, and highly recommended.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 07/08/2008 (1 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The movie started out really wonderful. It draws you into other worlds. It is much better than The Cell, the director's previous effort. The downfall of this movie is the inexperience of the actors and the director. At one point, a little girl starts screaming and she continues to scream for about 10 minutes. Although it was wonderful on the big screen, I couldn't help but wish that I had a fast-forward button. I liked the ending. In fact I like that era of 1920s Hollywood. So beautiful, but yet so crude and developing. Even though I complained about the acting, I really liked the storyteller. He was pretty good and I hope he becomes a star.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 06/06/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is almost perfect. It is visually stunning, the acting is superb (including that of Catinca Intaru who is just a little girl) and the story is fantastic. It is simply one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It had many of the elements that "Pan's Labyrinth" in the aspect that there were two plots: One real and one imagined. Both stories played off of each other and get entwined at points creating really funny dialog and unexpected moments. It really is just a great movie all around. My only problem with the movie was some of the "real" story got a bit sluggish at the end. But overall it was great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy