Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

8 1/2 (1963) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy 8 1/2 (1963) DVD from AmazonBuy 8 1/2 (1963) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 11/28/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

8½ is one of the best movies about film making, within a fantasy that clashes with reality. Short answer = It's a masterpiece

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 02/13/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is so trippy and brilliant. It needs to be watched multiple times to pick up on all the little details. "I'm sorry, but how can you not care if an audience understands?" I don't think we're even supposed to fully understand, but the entire experience of just watching it is enough for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 04/14/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Trying to make sense of this film is impossible, but I'm going to try anyway. The "A" storyline of the film is about a director who has a sever case of writer's block. I think everyone can understand that, it's the rest of the film that get's confusing. My take of the film, is this, everything else is a daydream. The end, which is the most confusing part of the film, I take it as this: during the press conference Guido does kill himself and he's now in the afterlife directing the film of "his life." This film has everyone that he's ever met in it. Or, I could just be full of shit and this film "means" absolutely nothing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 09/19/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is widely hailed as a brilliant movie about making a movie - I think that visually it's striking - many scenes stick with you, no matter how bizarre. However, trying to follow this is an effort in futility since it comes across as so random. I liked it well enough, but didn't exactly "get" it. It's certainly a unique, original experience.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 10/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is, without a doubt, my all-time favorite film. Taken linearly, it will surely confuse and frustrate. However, taken as parts that form a whole, the visual nuances on full display are fantastic. This is a thinly-veiled autobiography of a director who has made his living create fantastical visual landscapes. It is a layered discovery of the creative process that, while it isn't for everyone, will definitely entertain and inspire those who are more artistically bent.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 05/31/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

There have been a plethora of semi-autobiographical films that have boasted invigorating creativity and vibrancy, but none to the degree that Fellini's weird and wonderful masterwork has. A surrealist comedy about director's block is hardly a mainstream prospect... and that is arguably why the film is so good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

phantom 02/08/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

gorgeous visuals, just don't try to focus on the plot or figure out the plot, you might go mad if you do. I won't lie this movie is weird, but worth the effort

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 04/02/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

My second Fellini experience, which I enjoyed decidedly better than my first.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Funny, crazy and wild. Why not see it?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/05/2007 (0 of 4 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

From what I remember, I didn't really care for. The concept is interesting, the acting is good. But in the end, I didn't understand what all the hype was about. "The best movie about films." I don't think so.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2009 Movies by Mr Cinema
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse
Top Films of 1969 by Neobowler
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy