Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Battle Royale ( Batoru rowaiaru ) (2000) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Battle Royale ( Batoru rowaiaru ) (2000) DVD from AmazonBuy Battle Royale ( Batoru rowaiaru ) (2000) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Camper 02/13/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Oh god this movie hurt. That's all I can say about it really- it just hurt.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/20/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Holy shit balls! I have never seen the Hunger Games, and probably never will after seeing this masterpiece. I don't know many movies that mix the drama with action as well as this movie did. It was brilliantly put together in a way that had me clinching to my seat throughout the flick. The video quality is terrible. I thought this movie was a lot older than it actually is. I also found it hard to distinguish between characters. This does not take away from the movie though. This is a must-watch movie. Absolutely perfect.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Battle Royale is an unrelenting and twisted take on a Lord of the Flies like plot. What elevates it above most mindless bloody action films is that it exhibits a conscience and takes the time to establish characters, emotion, and themes, before the bloodletting begins. At the same time, there isn't much exposition, and the film moves along at a jaunting pace that makes it both entertaining and terrifying.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gideon43 05/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Gloriously sick, twisted and brutal action movie which is as brilliant as it is controversial. Hollywood is in no hurry to remake a film that only the Japanese could make. Although the bloodletting and scenes of gore are frequent, this is a movie which never wallows in violence, instead focusing on the reactions and actions of a desperate band of schoolchildren. At times sentimental, sad and surprisingly funny, Battle Royale is the ultimate guilty pleasure and one of the finest Japanese movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/23/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Damn... it was awesome!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 09/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

An eviscerating experience with potent comments on future society, survival and the arrogance of youth to be found amid the startling carnage. My only quibble AND THIS MAY BE A SPOILER TO THOSE UNFAMILIAR WITH THE FILM: why were two characters allowed to live by a man who didn't hesitate to murder countless others? One heck of an eye-opening experience, though. Final Grade: B+

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

theipanda 08/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

this is one of movies that you cant ignore i believe that call yourself a movie buff and you don't own a copy you are a fake there was noting bad about this movie acting,story line, cinematography, directing all was top notch and the biggest disappointment is when the end credits role

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hush 07/31/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Battle Royale is one of the best satirical films I have seen. If you have not seen this please do yourself a favor and read the novel first. Love the scene where all the best friends turn on one another. Look for a decent performance by Chiaki Kuriyama of Kill Bill fame.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/02/2007 (0 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A very interesting killing movie that is brutal, terrible, but yet fun to watch. I would hate to be these guys, but then again the pay off would be great! See it for something different and fun.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/19/2007 (0 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

For a film where a bunch of middle school kids kill each other, Battle Royale paints a pretty good picture of loyalty, friendship, betrayal, paranoia and madness. Not for everyone - as it is quite violent - but it works for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy