Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

This is Spinal Tap (1984) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy This is Spinal Tap (1984) DVD from AmazonBuy This is Spinal Tap (1984) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Yojimbo 04/05/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This Is Spinal Tap is a mock documentary and affectionate parody of heavy metal and its fans. To be honest, I suspect you have to be a metal fan to truly "get" it, but if you do, it's utterly hilarious! If you didn't know already it could be easily mistaken for the real thing; much of the dialogue was ad-libbed and it just captures the spirit of rock bands and the music biz perfectly. There are so many hilarious scenes I can't begin to count and it's the perfect movie to watch with a beer and a few like minded friends. Even the songs are comedy gold! I've seen this film over a dozen times and it still cracks me up EVERY time!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is the first and best of Christopher Guest's mockumentary films, lampooning the genre of rock documentary. It takes witty shots at the music industry, fame, fans, and rock music and also features some pretty catchy music of its own. Hilarious from start to finish, of the "Monty Python" variety.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A very clever and funny rock movie done in documentary style.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

woody 01/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

For a bizarre treat, watch this one back-to-back with Anthrax: The Story of Anthrax, an actual documentary that is often as wacky as Spinal Tap. This movie's my nominee for the most quotable movie ever made--but then, I'm an old musician. But my twenty-something daughter and her husband quote it just as often as I do, and over and over we all laugh together through the whole thing, just like it's our first time watching it..

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

threeofspades 04/30/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is one of the funniest you will ever watch. If you dont want to crank everything up to 11 when you see this, please seek medical assistance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Tia Maria 11/02/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Okay, I know, this is really pathetic, but I only found out this was a send off of the band half way through. And its not like i realized it myself, my dad walked in and told me LOL. pathetic. So I admit, I know absolutely nothing about this type of music. Nothing. So i think that if i had known maybe a LITTLE more about Spinal Tap then i would have enjoyed this movie more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is such a great movie. Guest and McKean are so funny as intellectually-challenged British rockers. Done as a documentary, it's truly genius.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sodapop 02/07/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

How much more funny can this movie be? The answer is none. None more funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Franz Patrick 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is a very amusing mockumentary, especially for a 1984 movie. The Stonehenge thing was bloody brilliant. I'm not going to describe all the funny moments because you'll just have to (and want to) see it for yourself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A hilarious journey with one rock band trying to make a comeback. Some of the stories told actually happened to real bands making it so much easier to enjoy watching the exploits of the band.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies I Want To See by Laura
Top Movie List by Jesse

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy