Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Stranger Than Fiction (2006) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Stranger Than Fiction (2006) DVD from AmazonBuy Stranger Than Fiction (2006) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

mitchellyoung 07/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The high concept of Stranger than Fiction is excellent, but the execution is oftentimes tedious, resulting in big sections of the plot and film that drag. Ferrell's serious portrayal is admirable, but the film doesn't have the hefty script to back up its lofty premise.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Interesting film. Cool narrative and some good funny moments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Overall, the quirkiness of "Stranger than Fiction" makes for an enjoyable stroll, though I felt the relationships formed were often inexplicable. It's not a good sign when a wristwatch is my favorite character.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I actually enjoyed this film, though it was not what I expected it to be, I was pleasantly surprised.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 03/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Stranger Than Fiction is unique in that it is well written humor in an era of fart and dumb jokes. The characters are honestly funny doing fairly normal things. This is one of the few movies that has made me laugh so hard I've cried. Truly a great comedy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

By far and away, the best Will Ferrell movie ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodfellamike 05/01/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

An odd enjoyable dramedy that gives Ferrell the chance at a more serious role. Emma Thompson is terrific, but the script leaves a lot to be desired, namely an ending that doesn't cave to the expected. The kind of movie that if you don't initially buy into its far-fetched premise, it will likely bore you to death. Final Grade: B

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 11/28/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Writer Zach Helm was Hollywood's "it" boy and this was his "it" script. I didn't love it. But I loved Dustin Hoffman's performance especially. I think Will Ferrell is a good actor, but as a serious actor he kinda falls flat. He should stick to comedy or a kinda dramedy for best results. Weirdly enough, I liked Zach Helm's followup script better (Mr. Magorium's Wonder Emporium). My friend really liked Stranger Than Fiction so maybe it's just me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 11/26/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

***HUGE SPOILERS*** I saw this movie with a lot of hopes (don't ask me why) And I'm glad I did because is fantastic! Will Ferrell gave an awesome performance and prooved that he's for a lot more than just stupid faces. The plot and the idea are fantastic. Maggie Gyllenhaal is so sweet that I can die for her (I didn't use to like her) The only thing that will make this movie not in my top 20 is the ending. Yes. He should have die. I knew that he would have to for someone (I was between the boy and her) "A tragic and significant death"... so why in the name of God you would you change the ending? That pissed me of a lot. Beyond that, it's a fantastic movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 10/26/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I loved the first 2/3 of the film, as Harold tries to figure out what's happening, then tries to figure out what to do about it. Not too comedic, not too sweet, but a good mix of the two. The end was too perfect for the rest of the film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy