Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Speed Racer (2008) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Speed Racer (2008) DVD from AmazonBuy Speed Racer (2008) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 09/07/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Biggest flop at the box office and I know why.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mimschkin 01/26/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

When watched on a big screen, the graphics of Speed Racer will most likely give you a seizure. However, I do have an appreciation for the colour palette and I liked the super-shiny feel of the whole thing. The story is a bit crazy to say the least (generally the application of anime style and subject matter onto a live-action US production has this effect) and it is predictable, but that didn't stop me from enjoying it well enough.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 05/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

How to ruin your career in less than ten years. The Wachowski Brothers in 1999 stunned the film world with the Matrix. One good sequel and one awful one embarassed the franchise and killed it off. So this is what they did next? Its not good, and shows no potential or skill. Sure the technology they must have used was expensive and blah blah blah but on screen it amounts to nothing. Its boring, its tacky, its a waste of time, and whats worse is you can tell all the actors think they are making something unique. Its not.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 04/29/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Speed Racer can be summed up as such: there's a lot going on, but nothing happening. It looks great - almost seizure-inducing great, but aside from the flashy visuals, everything else is dull - story, characters, development, etc. Avoid.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

hst 11/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I think the style of the movie was okay, but they didn't know how to use that style.. everything else was pretty disappointing. This movie was is an effect-carrier. Nothing more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

CJP 09/17/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

How I calculated my rating: Action 3/3, comedy 0.5/2, Good vs. Evil 0/1, Romance/Love 0.5/1, Special effects 1/1, plot 0/1, music 1/1. Thus 6/10 or 60%, which is 2/4 stars from me. The Wachowski's truly bring animation to life though the overly long running time will hamper both the overall product and any desire of rewatchability.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/11/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

"Speed Racer" was one of the most highly-anticipated movies for the summer on Alex's list of movies to watch. Now, I won't lie and tell you that the movie was brilliant and inspired me to reach for my dreams, but I also won't lie and tell you that I hated it. Who doesn't want to watch a live-action anime come to life and beam with irridescent, acid-trip radiance? Everyone does. This is one of those guilty pleasures that I'll have. A wonderful cast of actors and characters with jaw-dropping special effects and a rainbow of colors that trippers would find 70's, I loved this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jett Loe 05/23/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

My podcast review: http://thefilmtalk.com/2008/05/23/the-film-talk-part-20-speed-racer/

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FZero 05/19/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

While visually stunning the movie doesn't have much else going for it, whether it be the awkward comedy routine with the kid and the monkey or the overly long running time. If you can forgive those two points, go check it out on an IMAX screen it's still worth it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

bigfishnz 05/12/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Eye Candy is the first thing that comes to mind when i think of Speed Racer, The Wachowski brothers dont let us down on this ride with a great cast and cinematography to boot. The Story line is alittle week in places but the visual effects from start to finish keep the viewer hooked. This is one movie that needs to be seen on the big screen. 3 stars

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan
2017 by Karmand
2016 by Randall
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Top Ten Films of 1974 by KingoftheCorn
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy