Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Sound of Music (1965) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Sound of Music (1965) DVD from AmazonBuy The Sound of Music (1965) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Matthew Brady 08/17/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The story is about a young woman travels from home town in Austria to become a maid/nanny for a widowed naval officer. She teaches his children how to sing and enjoy life better. Musical. This is what you call a musical classic, because the sound of music works on characters and well the songs itself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Is it really all about do re mi? All film buffs must see it or they don't get a membership card and special hat.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Fantastic musical. Every song is memorable.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 10/26/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Another classic musical that manages to be about more than singing and dancing. Julie Andrews gives one of her best performances here and Christopher Plummer is equally good as the austere and commanding Captain Von Trapp.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 04/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I generally despise musicals... and this one is no exception. The cinematography may be impressive, but frankly the acting is terrible (I don't know where Christopher Plummer got the idea that he was supposed to play a piece of timber) and the script is in need of a merciless trim. It certainly doesn't help that the whole story is essentially a rehash of 'The King & I' (though, admittedly, that is more the fault of Rodgers and Hammerstein).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

phantom 02/08/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I watch it every time its on TV. I also sing along (don't judge) whenever i watch it I'm instantly transported to my childhood, watching it every year with my family. The songs are catchy and some of them insiring, Climb Every Mountain still gets me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 11/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The Sound of Music is a classic musical, plus its based on a true story, plus it has tension because no one wants the Nazis to win or kill adorable singing children. A great traditional format musical that really should be seen by people who love musicals and classic movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

"The Sound of Music," winning 5 Academy Awards and dozens of others is a classic film that brings together some of the most beautiful music by Oscar and Hammerstein as well as some of the best storytelling, acting, and cinematography ever created. I remember watching this movie as a family and realizing how terrifying life can be while at the same time understanding how beautiful the world is. A treat that all families should watch together.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 05/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Some of the most beautiful scenic shots open this movie, then Julie Andrews strides up the hill, does a little turn and the rest is history. Director Robert Wise is one of the most under-rated filmmakers that ever were and The Sound of Music is just great. Some musical numbers are better than others but all the tunes are instantly catchy, and the actors are typically jovial and funny, despite the films perhaps too long - length.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 05/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A musical with some good songs, good signing and some good settings. The story is nothing special although better than some musical's stories. I liked as the enjoyable musical it was trying to be and it succeeded at that. It was not overly special as some people seem to think it is but it is good at what it is trying to do.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
movies of 2017 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy