Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Some Like It Hot (1959) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Some Like It Hot (1959) DVD from AmazonBuy Some Like It Hot (1959) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

mitchellyoung 09/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Despite being on so many "funniest films of all time" lists, I didn't find this film laugh out loud funny. It's more of an enjoyable romp that derives its humor from the energy and camraderie of Curtis & Lemmon. Great final line, though.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

SIngli6 06/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

'Some Like It Hot's' efficacious implementation of bafflingly intricate and frenetically timed logistics should instill such a cathartic laughter in a viewer that the cumbrances of their ordinary lives should be immediately forgotten. If they do not, however, it may then be reasonably surmised that that viewer's sense of humour is almost as ordinary as their humdrum existences.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 08/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Maybe if I was alive in '59 it would've been funnier, but I just didn't laugh a whole lot. Even though this is still considered one of the funniest movies ever, I personally don't think it has aged well.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Once you understand that Marilyn Monroe is a beautiful ditz and the two guys are in drag, nothing else is even remotely interesting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 10/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This was a fun movie. It starts off a little "blah" but once it gets rolling its really fun. I thought the actors were great in this movie. Marilyn Monroe is gorgeous. Even if you don't like old movies this one is really one I think anyone would be able to stand.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Abby 07/05/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is my favorite of all time. if you are looking for a classic comedy that take some unexpected twists this is it! it has an all star cast, that i consider one of the best ever put together.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I've never gotten the appeal of this movie, or to tell the truth Marilyn Monroe. While people rave about this, I roll my eyes. But you can't like them all, can you?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Fantastic movie with great acting and solid script. Marilyn is gorgeus and both Curtis and Lemmon are great too. A lot of similar stuff was made after this one but none with the same grace and charming.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/19/2006 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The first Mrs. Doubtfire, this movie is good for fact that Curtis and Lemon do magic on screen. One of the best "old" comedies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies First Seen in 2018 by royaluglydudes
Movies of 2016 by Stoney McStonerson
My Wish List by Salma
movies of 1994 by skater4159
My Favourite Movies 1-10 by Inal
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Movies I've Seen by Jesús
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy