Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
 
 

Cloud Atlas (2012) Movie Information

Your Rating:
   
DVD  Blu-ray
view all merchandise
        Play Trailer    Write Review +  Request correction + Add to List: Add to movie list 

Overall Rank:

1815

Avg. Rating:

2.81/4

# of Ratings:

93

Genres:

Sci-Fi

Rating:

R

Language:

English

Theater Date:

10/26/2012

DVD Release:

05/14/2013

Director:

Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, Lana Wachowski

Actors:

Tom Hanks
Jim Sturgess
Hugo Weaving
Halle Berry
Susan Sarandon
Hugh Grant

 

 

 

 

Like Movie:

Plot Outline:

Individual actions ripple across time - past, present and future - helping one man turn from a killer into a hero and a single act of kindness inspires revolution far into the future. -- Chris Kavan

Related Movie Lists

Movies I want to see by E.H. Top Movie List by Ben
movies of 2012 by skater4159 Top Movie List by Seth
Book Adaptations by Zeljka My Wish List by hoods_breath
Top Movie List by Ivana Top Movie List by Brendan
I Want on DVD by Rod 2012 by Randall

Quick Movie Reviews

Matthew 01/04/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

from the people who give use the matrix comes.cloud atlas.okay this is going to be a short review of this movie so let's go.the story is very hard to follow and the acting is good to.and this movie will get a 2/4 star's it's okay

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Ambitious, featuring six stories all set in various time periods. Often times with a film like this, there is always that one storyline that is just not as good, or in the case of Cloud Atlas, 2 or 3 storylines that fail to compare to the others. That's really the main problem I had with this film, the performances, music, and visuals are all top notch, but not all the stories were that engaging, diluting the effectiveness of the major themes. I still really enjoyed the film. My favorite parts were set in Korea and the 1970s.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ivana 06/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I feel like I had watched six movies in one. The orchestra soundtrack is awesome. The script is lush, fully of philosophy about ways to understand the life going back to the yore for travel up to the future. It wonder for the life limit, deep personals and collective apprehensions, human and technologic evolution, love, desires of survive, death, beliefs, and the invisible energy that make move the world. The scenography and actors performance is amazing too. I can't categorize the genre of this movie because I could find sci-fi,action, drama, a bit of comedy... Two hours and half no disposables.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 

Full Movie Reviews

  KingInTheNorth
KingInTheNorth
Producer
 

06/30/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

A powerful movie near perfection

It is very hard to put "Cloud Atlas" into a special genre because it has multiple elements in it. Mostly Sci-Fi, but also a bit of Drama and some Comedy as well. It stars Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Ben Whishaw and some other good actors as well.
It is about some persons who ripple across time- Past, present and future. It is directed and produced by The Wachowskis and Tom Twyker (Perfume, Matrix, Run Lola Run)

At the beginning you don't know anything about the characters, they all seem just plugged into the movie, but time by time everything fits together. The script on the whole is brilliant written and very philosophical, though it lacks at some points. The actors all do a very good job, especially Ben Whishaw and TOM HANKS. Finally a splendid performance of him. The directing of Twy...

Rating of
3.5/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  Daniel Corleone
Daniel Corleone
Movie God
 

01/07/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Cloud Atlas review

"There is a natural order in this world." Various characters in different era's. The real meat aside from its stunning visual effects is the screenplay. Bountiful quotable lines such as: Sonmi-451 -"I believe death is only a door. One closes, and another opens." Dr. Henry Goose - "Our lives and our choices, each encounter, suggest a new potential direction." "Fear. Belief. Love. Phenomena that determine the course of our lives." Captain Molyneux - "When life gives you lemons, you make apple juice." A few minor qualms would be its dull pace, length, plot setting and direction. This would have been way better if it was executed chronologically (unless intended and I missed something) and better character build-up to make the film more fun to watch instead of overloading the figures wh...

Rating of
3/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
  Rod
Rod
Producer
 

12/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

"Everything is connected."

Six different stories from the past, through the present, and to the future with the same twists and turns, characters and personalities, belief and religion, principles and philosophy.

***
The moment I saw the trailer, I knew I would be watching it in a movie house, and I did. It pulled me that much with the great concept and visually appealing execution. Every scene worth the time, thus saying, this almost-three-hour-long film does not bore any viewer. I also read the book which, of course, has more substantiation of everything that are happening, but the immediate power or ability of a film worked very well on a sci-fi like this. Six different stories seemed to be very consuming for a viewer, but not this one- at least to myself- I was amazed of how scenes from different plot conn...

Rating of
3.5/4 

read more +
 
Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Recent Movie Talk Forum Posts

  LeeAnn M.
LeeAnn M.
Producer
 
I have not seen Cloud Atlas yet, although I plan on seeing it very soon. I don't plan on getting too bogged down with the details when I do see it, but rather see it in a very relaxed state of mind. With six different storylines merging into one, it sounds like it can get very confusing if you let it.
10/31/2012
9:26 am CT

reply +
report spam +
  Chris Kavan
Chris Kavan
Moderator
 
While reception has been a bit chilly, I'm still willing to give this a shot. The long running time may be the biggest hit against it, but it looks so interesting and original, I'm going to let it slide.
10/30/2012
4:38 pm CT

reply +
report spam +
  Daniel Corleone
Daniel Corleone
Movie God
 
I agree with you Chris on The Matrix Revolutions, too exaggerated and forced.  Glad to see the Wachowski Brothers back in action, looking forward to this as well.  Cool update!

10/28/2012
11:14 pm CT

reply +
report spam +
  Alex
Alex
Moderator
 
I will definitely be seeing this. I only have hopes that it will look amazing.
10/23/2012
6:59 pm CT

reply +
report spam +
  Chris Kavan
Chris Kavan
Moderator
 
I'm still planning on watching this, even though each subsequent trailer I've seen makes it look even more bizarre. However, I like to be challenged and while I don't think this type of movie will appeal to a wide audience, I just hope all the elements come together to form a coherent film, no matter how what time period or how many different characters show up.
10/23/2012
2:16 pm CT

reply +
report spam +
 
Log In
 Login with Facebook
For members wanting to use FB to login, click here
remember me  
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Comments about...
Ted
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I want to see by E.H.
Best of 2013 by Nick
2013 Rated & Ranked by Chris Kavan
Top Movie List by Ben
Top Movie List by Gounter
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
movies of 2013 by skater4159
Top rated films I have never seen by Mike

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations FilmCrave Friends    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy

MeltedJoystick.com

Hitfix.com

GQTI.com

Hangar1.com

TrailerAddict.com

OVGuide.com

Digitaldreamdoor.com