Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Serenity (2005) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Serenity (2005) DVD from AmazonBuy Serenity (2005) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 06/02/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The crew are back but this time it's a movie not a TV series. The directing and the characters are the best part of this movie but am not a fan of firefly if I have to be honest so I thought this movie was alright.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/17/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

As someone who had never watched a single episode of Firefly before seeing Serenity, I was refreshed by the combination of a solid sci-fi film with Whedon's signature humor-filled, gleeful directing style. The film is exciting throughout and a fun ride, even for those unfamiliar with the source material.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

nis 02/01/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

ok i saw this before i saw the actual series (firefly) and i thought i'd give it 6/10. but on a second viewing and especially after i saw firefly, it was a pure delight watching this movie. i hated to see wash die though..

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Way to go for getting closure for a very unique series. But...the plot is more than just a little iffy when it comes to morality and no kiss for Mal and Inara? Criminal.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 05/30/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I have to admit I had really low expectations coming into this one, but not bad. Hardcore sci-fi fan will surely love it and other can enjoy it, too.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Taz 01/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I must start out by saying that I a Huge Joss Whedon Fan. I love all of his shows and Firefly was no exception. It was nice to see what he had wanted to do with the firefly series and it made for a great movie. Also a note to any Firefly Fans the Firefly cast is all here so you will enjoy that. Over all if you liked this movie you need to rent or buy the series it is even better!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sberk44 12/26/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Being a huge Firefly fan I was highly anticipating greatness from this movie. This also scared me because my expectations are always met with disappointment. Serenity does not disappoint. This film reminds me of the Star Wars IV - VI films. There are many comparisons that can be made. The witty dialog, cocky lead actor, and good supporting cast. This film may be more for those who have seen the TV series. Definitely give it a chance and watch with open mind.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gojiro 10/25/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie rocks. Period. If you haven't seen it, and you haven't seen the TV show it's based on, go pick up Firefly and watch it, then pick this up and watch it. I guarantee you'll love it. It's not at all your average, high-tech space opera or gritty human vs. alien pic. Serenity -- like Firefly -- is a story about average joes trying to make their way. But things never go smooth for the crew of Serenity, a tramp freighter. And in this movie, they aren't smooth at all. In fact, things get quite rough. That's all I'm going to say. Just see it. Don't let anyone spoil it for you.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 04/27/2007 (1 of 3 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Having never seen Firefly, I didn't know what to expect. But this movie was pretty good, witty and action packed. I like the idea of the movie, but it was a bit "made for tv" looking for my taste. Good if you love Sci-fi.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 04/26/2007 (2 of 2 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly will be satisfied with this action-packed sci-fi flick. Others may feel a bit baffled, but none-the-less enjoy the ride.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy