Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) DVD from AmazonBuy The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Rod 08/01/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a beautiful creation by Wes Anderson (plus the co-writer Owen Wilson). I think this is one of the best films Anderson has created. Witty and interesting! Plus, the cast made a good combo. Loved it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/11/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An absolutely perfect film for this star studded cast. When I first sat down t watch this movie I was expecting the many top actors to chew through the scenery to live up to something more than the movie is. The directing by Anderson was perfect. I felt like these great actors were humble in their performances, leading to a genuine film of love, anguish, despair, and hilarity. I am shocked that this movie has under 3 stars. I thought it was beautifully written, directed, and executed. A must-watch for everybody.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 04/13/2012 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of Wes Anderson's best films, a tragic portrayal of a family falling apart at the seams. The film finds its truth and comfort in dark comedy and the film's subtly funny moments work because they are buried in real human emotion. This is the closest Anderson's awkward, observational style gets to truly probing rich and relatable characters and it works beautifully.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Gets praise, left me cold.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Anderson's quirky style is at it's best here. I enjoyed the performances from the members of this fractured family and also the dry humor.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 07/28/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I like Wes Anderson, but this one didn't really do it for me. I felt this one was a bit sadder than funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 06/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie is not one the general masses will find entertaining. Its full of eccentric and bizarre characters who are rivaled only by the strange story. However, I really like this film. It has many funny moments and subplots. If you have unusual taste, this may be one you'll enjoy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

trainerboy 05/12/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Strange movie. Some funny parts but overall I have to be in the mood to watch it. It has its moments but overall, not one of the best for any of the cast.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Manda Kay 12/29/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I think it's great, the way that this dysfunctional family comes together. I enjoy Wes Anderson a lot and this movie is no exception.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 10/09/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Best Characters: Margo Tenenbaum I love this movie so much, I wish I could live in this world. The cast and direction is utterly superb. My only regret is that the DVD features are not that great, but I saw it in the theater twice and enjoyed the experience immensely. 10/10! Hon. mention goes to Gene Hackman and well everybody.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy