Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Rocky (1976) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Rocky (1976) DVD from AmazonBuy Rocky (1976) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Matthew Brady 02/10/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A undersized and underfunded heavyweight challenges the long time heavyweight to a fight after being the underdog in many of his fights. He struggles to balance his training with his personal life and confidence. Epic soundtrack and a hero that can't speak right.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

scunaclaf 10/04/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a masterpiece. an emotional boxing drama introducing Rocky balboa

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/08/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The first of the boxing franchise is the best. Sylvester Stallone embodies the spirit of overcoming obstacles in a story that frames a boxer's challenges in the ring with his own life struggles. The boxing scenes are furious and thrilling and Stallone plays what will forever be his career role.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 01/23/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Even though I knew the whole story before I saw it, I still enjoyed watching this film. I didn't grow up with this movie, but I did see it at a younger age and looking at it again now, I find it to be the same great inspirational underdog story it always was. I have yet to see a sports film capture the same feeling of 'Rocky'.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/21/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Never been a big fan of Rocky

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Some movies you watch and say, "Wow. Now I know what all the fuss was about." Rocky wasn't like that. I mean, Yo, it's Ok, and the Bill Conti theme is iconic. But I don't get the classic status. And did anyone else think the Paulie character was unneccesary? I'm sure I've said something blasphemous.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 10/23/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Rocky is truly a classic inspiration sports movie and probably the best. Stallone is great in the role, probably since he wrote the character and the movie seems very authentic despite all the over the top music etc. A good movie to watch if you feeling a bit down.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/13/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Rocky is definitely the greatest sports movie ever! No doubt about it. Just like everyone else who has seen it, I love the fact that he actually loses the big fight. But, that he, of course, goes "all the way." And, I don't even like boxing all that much!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Franz Patrick 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I didn't expect it to have that much of a story. I expected one relentless boxing match one after the other like "Raging Bull." But I'm glad that there's a story to it--that I go to witness the rise of a beaten man to greatness. I'm impressed that I found heart in this film, such as scenes where we would give someone a word of wisdom. It made me care about Rocky, especially during the match. I did enjoy the ending very much because the credits started rolling during the climax. This film is inspiring, uplifting, and a nailbiter. At first I was reluctant to see this because I'm not a very big fan of sports pictures. After watching this movie, I am now curious to see its sequels.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jones 10/14/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This film is often found in the action section of your local video store...why?...I have no idea. At it's core, it is a wonderful love story, full of amazing characters. The story of a man on the edge of failure, who takes a one in a million shot at becoming a world champion, and the woman who gives him the strength and the faith in himself that needs to survive. The films score by Bill Conti, may be the most stirring piece of film music ever composed. The films antagonist, played by Carl Weathers, moves through the boxing ring like a poem. give it a shot. you won't be dissapointed.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Best of 2016 by Nick
2015 by Karmand
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy