Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Raising Arizona (1987) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Raising Arizona (1987) DVD from AmazonBuy Raising Arizona (1987) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Matthew Brady 09/21/2017 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I don't know what's more on speed. The film or Nicole Cage. Or maybe me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 01/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I watched this film because of the reviews I have seen on it. I have also seen this on a bunch of lists on this and other sites. With that, I went into this movie with high expectations. I love the cast. This movie seems to be well before Cage's prime, but he still performs great. Holly Hunter played her role perfectly and was a believable character and was able to create empathy. Other than that, the movie was just, Okay. I enjoyed it and am glad I watched it, but it wont be on any of my Top lists. Give it a watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 11/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I'm a huge Coen Brothers fan, but I found this to be just mediocre at best. But, it was only their second film, so you have to cut them some slack. But, I found the movie to be quite dated. It plays like a screwball comedy, but the pieces just didn't quite fit together. The whole bounty hunter plot I felt just wasn't needed.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 02/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Hilarious! A cleverly ridiculous and fun comedy that also has a kind of sweet side.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 12/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is one of the Coen Brothers' most pure comedies - a madcap homage to screwball comedies like Bringing up Baby. Nicolas Cage's tendency to overact works within the manic structure of the film and the witty dialogue and energy of the film continues from the first to the last frame.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/29/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A delightfully dark romp that Holly Hunter excels at. The Coen brothers have really created a genre all their own, by poking fun at Southerners and the misunderstood, but not in a mean or insidious way. "Raising Arizona" tells the story of Nicolas Cage and Holly Hunter who kidnap one of the Arizona quints due to the fact that they cannot get pregnant themselves. John Goodman and Trey Wilson enter the scene as escaped cons (former friends of Cage) who try to get him into helping them commit one last final felony.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

LeopardExplosion 01/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Definetly not the Coens' best film, but it sure is an enjoyable watch. The direction and concept is interesting while not relying on raunchy, innapropriate profane content. This movie delivers the laughs clean and simple, without having to get down and dirty for attention. Nicolas Cage creates somewhat of a memorable character similar to many other Coen brother characters. Very fun to watch. FINAL SCORE :::: 71% ::::

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 10/23/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This wasn't the absolute worst movie that I have ever seen. Obviously, this was not one of Cappola's best jobs. The only thing good about this was his accent (at he got it right this time...way better than that mess he tried to pull of in ConAir). They tried to go for the dry humor with movie; except, they forgot to put the humor. I mean, it did have some good moments, but nothing to go crazy over. I concur with The M.O.W....never rent this unless your top 5 choices are taken, and your favorite sports team is done for the season.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This show could only be a Coen film. So eccentric and strange, this movie requires a warped sense of humor. Cage is hilarious and Hunter is good. It's one of those shows that's funnier each time you watch it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/12/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This isn't what I would call a typical comedy. No gross-out jokes, no sex, no language - just quirky humor. Watch the scene where Cage robs a convenience store for diapers. The chase that follows is pure gold. So is the rest of the film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy