Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Princess Bride (1987) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Princess Bride (1987) DVD from AmazonBuy The Princess Bride (1987) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 21 

Gabe 03/16/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

What a wonderful film. It features great acting and Rob Reiner really has a great touch. He makes this fun for all ages, yet also enjoyable enough for adults. Everything about this film is memorable, the characters, the quotes...oh the quotes, there are too many to list. And I love the plot device of having Peter Falk reading to Fred Savage, that way, we don't have to suspend are belief that this is or isn't really happening, it's already a made-up story...and remember: "Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line"

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/16/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Yeah, it's pretty corny at times and goes for a few too many obvious jokes. Still, The Princess Bride is charming in its willingness to embrace its own silliness and, at times, it's a transcendent send-up of the fantasy genre. The whole cast seems to be having a blast -particularly Mandy Patinkin in his quest for the six fingered man and the incomparable Andre the Giant.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I avoided this movie for the longest time. The title always gave me the idea it was a romcom on the level of 'The Wedding Planner' or one of the other mindless movies made to ruin relationships and prevent women from accepting the reality of what relationships are. When my wife assured me that this was nothing like that, I cautiously trusted her and was greeted with one of my favorite movies of all time. This movie is funny and adventurous. It targets both men and women equally and does it quite well. This is a must-see for all movie fans.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Andrew 04/29/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The Princess Bride is a true cult classic and works because it does not take itself too seriously. The sword fights are comical for their lack of blood and gore and the dialogue is often funny and hokey. Regardless, the actors fill their roles perfectly and the narrative flows nicely as a story being told be a grandfather to his grandson. The Princess Bride is not a masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination, but it is certainly an enjoyable film that is worth watching.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fantasy movie for everyone. Simultaneously satirizes and embraces the the fairy tale style story and makes for one fun adventure.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I knew I'd like this movie because it had Wallace Shawn and Andre the Giant in it. Also, I knew from the very beginning that this would be an enjoyable movie in an unusual way when Cary Elwes' character asks for some rope to help him climb the mountain after Shawn's character had already severed it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 10/17/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Guy or girl. Anyone can enjoy this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A beautifully witty, most classic of all fractured fairy tales, "The Princess Bride" is one of those films that define an age of childhood innocence. What is truly unique about this film is that it brought about a whole genre of zany comedy that has yet to be duplicated. The legend seems serious and is told in an almost tongue-in-cheek sort of way. A great film that I can always pop in and enjoy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

QINGDAO!!!!!!!!! 10/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The most enjoyable movie ever made, no question. Thankyou Rob Reiner.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Abby 07/07/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I love this movie because it is perfect for everyone.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
movies of 2017 by skater4159
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Ben
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Drama Movies by Rod
Movies I've Watched by Muskurana

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy