Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Prestige, The (2006) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Prestige, The (2006) DVD from AmazonBuy Prestige, The (2006) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 23 

SIngli6 04/02/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

As an unashamed Nolan apologist, I often go out of my way to preserve the once commonly held opinion that he is one of the greatest directors of the 21st century. I love his scripts, his themes, his moods, and his iconic visual style. However, I also acknowledge the man has quite a few faults and short-comings, and none of these are more incontrovertibly demonstrated than in 'The Prestige'. The writing tries too hard to be clever, genuine emotion is scarcely conveyed, and the women are all very boring. Even the usually excellent cinematography of Wally Pfister goes overboard with it's variegation of browns, greys, and blacks. Easily Nolan's worst film (and that's including Interstellar).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 07/25/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Batman vs wolverine. Two magicians try to decode each others magic tricks when one of them develops the ultimate trick and the other tries endlessly to discover the secret. This movie has brilliant cast and acting, the writing is clever and the directing is fantastic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

scunaclaf 10/04/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is a unique really good mystery with fine actors . It keeps you guessing to the end

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TySimm 05/03/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

Christopher Nolan's adaptation is true thriller that is beautifully cast and executed. Full of twists and tons of suspense, Nolan and crew were able to craft a film carefully hides the truth right before you eyes. Bale and Jackman give wonderful performances as rivals and competitors who are always trying to one up each other. One of my all-time favorites.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/31/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

If I were to rate Christopher Nolan's films, this would be very near the top of the list. The Prestige is a masterpiece of genre filmmaking - full of atmosphere, gritty characters, and a plot that only a true film auteur could come up with and execute. The twists and turns come together in a very satisfying conclusion, but one that doesn't completely negate the ride that came before.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 05/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A good, entertaining film with great actors. But, it felt like a throw away film for Bale and Jackman. Their energy just felt really low. It was still entertaining, but something felt like it was missing. The "prestige" or reaveal of Bale's trick at the end of the movie actually caught me off guard, but in hindsight it shouldn't have.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/20/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Cold and nasty. Really stupid revelation toward the end about the way the trick is done.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

So many twist & turns all through out the movie.I had to watch it twice just to make sure I didnt miss anything

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Sonya 07/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great movie! I remember watching it the first time and being blown away by the many layers of deception by the characters. Even though I know the “secrets”, this movie is one I enjoy watching when ever it is on TV.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Christopher Nolan delivers a great complex story once again. The movie plays out just like a magic trick and you will feel that you've been had, when the reveal comes.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  3  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2002 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Films of 2013 by Neobowler
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Top Movie List by Michael

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy