Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Platoon (1986) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Platoon (1986) DVD from AmazonBuy Platoon (1986) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 

Matthew Brady 08/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This movie is about a young man is sent to the Vietnam War where he explores the reality of moral dilemmas, friends dying, and searching for a reason for it all. This touching war drama as everything that I love. The characters and the acting was brilliant. Oliver Stone did a damn good job directing this film, and lets not forget the score in this movie, how can I put this down in words. Moving, breathtaking and so beautiful.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/25/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A standout film for War cinema. Platoon goes where so few films do, the emotional side of wartime. The cast is perfect with so many great performances, especially Tom Berenger and Willem Dafoe, who both received Oscar nominations for Best Supporting Actor. A great story, intense action, solid writing, and memorable scenes.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Patrik 12/21/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Oliver Stone has really made something special here. Saw this the other say and was impressed by the performances and the story in particular. Sure, the characters sometimes seem a bit exhaggerated but for me it helps clarifying the vision of what effects war has on people. Charlie Sheen isn't fantastic in the leading part but he is not really an actor as he is an observer. Stone tells us the story through Sheen and ut works damn well and feels damn realistic and horrifying and fantastic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ean Vali 11/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I once saw this movie by mistake because I went into the wrong cinema...... Impressive is the only thing I can say.....

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/08/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The best anti-warm film ever made, Platoon is a poetic journey through the horrors of war. Oliver Stone shows great restraint from his later penchant for political over-commentary and, rather pulls some truly transcendent performances out of Berenger (playing a truly despicable character), Dafoe, and Sheen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mpol 07/08/2012 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Platoon is another good film that depicts the horrific consequences of war, and how our soldiers have all too often been turned into killing machines for nothing. Oliver Stone directed this film quite well, and it brings up a rather good question; Why should anybody be exploited and turned into killing machines by their goverments?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 06/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A more human telling of the Vietnam experience than it's bleakly factual contemporary Full Metal Jacket, this film is almost scuppered by the gimmicky casting of Charlie Sheen in the lead role. The strong supporting cast make up for his obvious shortcomings as a serious actor however. Watch out for a young Johnny Depp as Lerner.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Jase 02/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

While I really like this as a whole, it would've been much better without the voice-over. It tried to tell you what the movie was about instead of letting you come to your own conclusions. It seemed like Oliver Stone spent two hours trying to tell a story, then ended up not trusting the audience enough to process it. I'm sure he thought the voice-over would give the movie more weight, a more reflective tone, but it just seemed sort of lame to me. I don't think it added anything of worth.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 01/18/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Oliver Stone isn't afraid to make his opinion known, and it often hurts rather than helps his films. But Platoon avoids that and shows the harsh reality of wars: moral choices, madness, courage and lack thereof - right up there with Full Metal Jacket and Apocalypse Now as a quintessential Vietnam War film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

One of the best films centered on the Vietnam war. The characters are what stand head and shoulders above the rest.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by hoods_breath
Top Movie List by Ray
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2014 by Karmand
1976 Movies by Mr Cinema
2004 Films Watched by James
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy