Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Others, The (2001) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Others, The (2001) DVD from AmazonBuy Others, The (2001) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

Leighann Paige 02/03/2016 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

After the caretakers left without a word one night, the mother of two kids calls for new ones. Three of them arrive and start were the others left off. Only, there's more than just the caretakers in the house. Those other people are easy to predict once the suspense starts building. It takes the enjoyment out of most of the movie. It doesn't help that the actors aren't always believable and the score is overly dramatic in some places. Parts of the movie are laughable at best. Luckily, it didn't kill the entire movie. I still found it enjoyable to watch. I wouldn't spend the time to watch it again though. I get what Amenabar was going for. The movie just needed a little bit of ironing out and it would have stood stronger than it did.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 08/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A creepy and chilling movie with a predicable twist.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/24/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A slightly under-appreciated horror film in my opinion. It's dark and creepy, but never reveals too much too early. It reminded me of very popular movie from 1999 that I will not name as to not spoil anything, but I prefer this film. Nicole Kidman gives a really good performance in this (2001 was a great year for her); she really elevates this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 11/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Chronically over-rated tosh that's little more than extended episode of Tales Of The Unexpected. It's mildly atmospheric but utterly predictable and Nicole Kidman CANNOT ACT!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

smokiediebear 08/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Don't know why I like this one so much but I do. The twist at the end is worth sitting through the long dialog. The movie is slow moving and I found myself get a beer once or twice but as soon as it moved I sat down and finished it. Worth a watch for sure if you like psychological thrillers with a twist..

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/14/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Better than you would expect and it has one of the most memorable twists.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 10/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

A well acted mystery horror. Well crafted and performances of the supporting cast was splendid. Good direction coupled with an engaging screenplay. The Others is surprisingly a good mystery horror.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Had me hooked all the way through.Suprising ending & GREAT movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A horror film that is not just a horror film. Similar vibe as the Sixth Sense, but not as skillfully-constructed, nor as thematically deep as that film. Still, the visuals and directing style are creative and the film manages to shift between scary and sad without pause. The child actors, particularly, really give the film weight and reality and are the best acting on display here, along with Kidman.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Cake 02/08/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I recommend this movie. It's second on my list. Would have never known they were the ghost. Should make more movies just as good as this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy