Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

North by Northwest (1959) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy North by Northwest (1959) DVD from AmazonBuy North by Northwest (1959) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 12 

Mark 08/28/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

 

favorite line (of many):Now you listen to me, I'm an advertising man, not a red herring. I've got a job, a secretary, a mother, two ex-wives and several bartenders that depend upon me, and I don't intend to disappoint them all by getting myself "slightly" killed. similar to hitchcock's the 39-steps and saboteur. multiple locales, the wrongly accused man on the run. however with nnw hitch raised the bar to a new level. a must see.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 01/20/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A advertising exec is chased cross country while he tries to clear his name in a government mistake. In the end, he can't tell who is on his side. This movie is a classic master peace of a film by the wonderful and the amazing Alfred Hitchcock who brings such life to this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amy 11/04/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Fabulous. And refreshing to watch a movie where the characters act smarter than you expect, and not dumber. Surprisingly risque, for a Hays Code movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/03/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

North by Northwest is one of the quintessential Hitchcock films. While I enjoy the subtlety of some of the director's later works, North by Northwest blends charming humor, sneaky plot trickery, and some big action setpieces into an entertaining ride that often keeps the audience guessing. Cary Grant and James Mason are a fitting pairing for this creative cat-and-mouse game, which contains some of the most iconic scenes in all of thrillerdom (the cropduster chase and the Mt. Rushmore climax among the most famous.)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/18/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Superb in every aspect from story, characters, music, camera and wry humor. Out of all the Hitchcock films I've seen thus far, this is my favorite. A classic in every sense.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/14/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Easily one of Alfred Hitchcock's best films ever made, this movie was brilliantly acted, superbly written, and flawlessly directed. Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint were just terrific. The brilliance is held in how truly exciting this movie brings together so many different elements and flawlessly brings them altogether in one of the most exhilarating movies I've ever seen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/06/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

It's the best Hitchcock movie I've ever seen. That's for sure. And, it's also the best Cary Grant movie I've ever seen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 02/04/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fun and fast paced thriller. It is one of those movies where you just want to see where is goes. Sometimes these movies are bogged down by the way it goes but this one actually explains all but one thing which happened before the movie starts. The various scenes are done well, the acting is good, and it is interesting throughout. This is a movie that shows what a thriller can be and should be.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

LeopardExplosion 11/06/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Probably my favourite Hitchcock film. I'm starting to view my collection over again (haven't watched some in a while) and North By Northwest seems to be, well, flawless. Few movies I find today have the wit, intelligence, and suspense this movie carries. I also find it hard to deem a movie 'flawless', in fact right now maybe 2 come to mind. North By Northwest features incredible dialogue, great mystery, and an astounding plot that almost anyone can come to love. With a great score, great actors, and enough 'Hitchcockiness' to make your mouth dribble, North By Northwest no doubt scores big. FINAL SCORE :::: 91% ::::

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 10/01/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

"Crappy" flicks as sahara or national treasure are no the first in being adventures. True. This is not Indy jones. But he wasn't the first either in having and "adventure". So, The master and one of the finest american directors, reinvents the genre with charm, and a plot that will blow your brain. Can't miss this all time classic.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy