Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Mystic River (2003) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Mystic River (2003) DVD from AmazonBuy Mystic River (2003) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Snoogans 01/02/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Never comes off as deep as it wants to. The basic plot is decent, but never too involving. It's all been seen in the exact same way before. The ending brings the only new elements. Predictable, in an acceptable manner. Well done in most other areas. Worth a watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

philS 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Although the book was better, the movie did somewhat of a good job putting the best of the book in it. It is still an all around good movie, and i would suggest it

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Mystic River is a smoldering and building violent drama that is full of explosive and fearless performances. Director Eastwood knows how to build tension at the right moments and holds the reins just enough so that the film doesn't go overboard into melodrama. Tragic and moving.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/25/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Liked the movie just didnt like the ending

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Patrik 09/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Great film by mr Eastwood. I think this is his best film as a director though I haven't seen "Unforgiven". The story and the script is pretty great. And the acting, everyone involved gives a great performance. My favourites in this movie are Robbins and Penn-the oscarwinners. They both make really strong, kind of scary performances. The movie is much more than a crime movie, it's also a great drama which is perfect to see on a dark septemberday.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 03/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A good police procedural/ drama of sorts. I did like parts of this and the performances besides the Oscar winning ones. I did like to see where the plot went to and the whole atmosphere set up in the film. I had problems with the plot contrivances that which were too unrealistic for the realistic atmosphere of the rest of the film. I still liked the film and thought it still worked but some of it was a bit forced especially the lady Macbeth scene from Laura Linney at the end or the subplot involving Kevin Bacon's estranged wife. There is still a lot to like though. The plot is still interesting to follow despite its ending being disappointing and the film is well directed but its writing is a bit off.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Creeeeeeeepy. I hate Clint Eastwood, but I gotta say that this movie was a win!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Mr. B.K. Tinney 04/24/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I will be the first to say it....Clint Eastwood is every bit as good as a director as he is an actor. This movie is very powerful and although I was left unsatisfied somewhat at the ending how could you not love this movie overall. Sean Penn is brilliant as usual and although he is not a personal favorite of mine, Tim Robbins does his best work since Shawshank. Kevin Bacon and Laurence Fishburne are good in limited roles and you could not add a better 1-2 female support team than Laura Linney and Marcia Gay Harden. Clearly though, this all works because of the material of writer Dennis Lehane and the direction of Eastwood, who doesn't even have to be in front of the camera in this one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alexa 03/12/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After I saw this movie for the first time, I said to myself "WOW!". Very sad story with very complex characters. What can you say about Sean Penn? Is words such as brilliant, awesome, and amazing come to mind. 100% deserved his Best Actor Oscar. Tim Robbins gives nothing less than an amazing performance as well. 100% deserved his Best Supp. Actor Oscar. This movie jumps out of the screen and touches your heart. One of the best movies I have ever seen.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/01/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is a really touching movie. It's also tragically sad.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy