Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Misery (1990) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Misery (1990) DVD from AmazonBuy Misery (1990) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

Gabe 12/14/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

The only Stephen King adaptation to win an Academy Award, no Shawshank never won one, Kathy Bates is great as Annie Wilkes, James Caan's #1 Fan. This film is creepy, but you pretty much see everything coming. Except for the shooting of the Sheriff, that caught me off guard. This film is good and quite creepy with two great acting performances.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/11/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A famous novelist crashes on a snowy Colorado road. He is rescued by his "number one fan" but soon finds that she is unstable and willing to do anything to have her way. This movie is a scary thriller that your always glued to the screen and never looking away.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I like some other Stephen King adaptations a little more, but this is still a really good film nonetheless. Kathy Bates is brilliant and completely deserved her Oscar. James Caan is also good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A reasonable suspense movie with shades of Psycho, based on an unusually restrained albeit self-absorbed novel by Stephen King. Not bad, but undeserving of it's acclaim because of the flat direction that's completely lacking in atmosphere, and predictable storyline. But the main problems for me are the plot holes; the police really need weeks to figure out that a convicted murderess who is obsessed with the man and has recently bought a typewriter and a load of paper who just happens to live nearby might possibly have something to do with his disappearance? Please. And dowdy women with a penchant for romantic fiction just aren't scary. I don't care how loopy they are...

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/13/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

In a slow-burn thriller from Stephen King, Kathy Bates is magnetic as the unhinged psycho fan of James Caan. The film mostly builds well on atmosphere and subtle tension, but isn't afraid to pull out the stops for a few brutal moments. A claustrophobic and well-done thriller.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 11/09/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Paul Sheldon (James Caan) is take cared of by his "number one fan" Annie Wilkes (Kathy Bates). Starts of slow then the pace picks up when Paul discovers the newspaper clippings. Kathy Bates was remarkably sensational in her role. The screenplay was good and score made it more dramatic. Misery has that "Cape Fear" type of horror which pulls you in especially towards the conclusion of the film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This movie was Nuts!!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 05/07/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Uses suspense to the full maximum. Kathy Bates is amazing. Great film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 10/12/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

To put it simply, this film is shit your pants terrifying! There are no ghosts, ghouls, or masked killers. Just one man and a crazed fan. A great thrill ride.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Somap4 07/13/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Misery is a 1990 horror film starring James Caan and Kathy Bates based on the Stephen King book of the same name. He does a great job and she does even better. I like Stephen King, but I haven't read this book. I did watch it on tv, so it might be a completely movie unedited. Every scene with Kathy Bates is creepy and chilling. Overall, a good film with a good script and even better actors.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy