Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Million Dollar Baby (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Million Dollar Baby (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy Million Dollar Baby (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Camper 03/25/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I'm not typically a fan of sports movies- the cliché phrases, the familiar plot twists, the formula...but I don't know, something about Million Dollar Baby really worked. Apparently a lot of people weren't a fan of the bleak ending but I thought that it was very beautiful and poignant. When asked why the film ended in such a depressing way, Clint Eastwood stated that it was about the American Dream. Something out of reach and wonderful and then given and then taken away.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 01/16/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Takes the typical 'rags to riches' sports premise and leaves out the fame aspect. The characters are endearing for being identifiable types, but presented more off center. The genre parts are enjoyable despite the familiarity. The third act almost turns this into a different movie all-together. Things become emotionally heavy when the main characters are faced with drastic changes that are cause for the hardest life decision.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/09/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An old hard nosed trainer who owns a gym tries to discourage a woman boxer from boxing. He is finally convinced to train her and helps her to become one of the best female boxers. This movie as Brilliant acting and directing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Lauren 12/27/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Be prepared to cry when you see this movie. All the actors were outstanding esp Clint Eastwood. Phenomenal job. It's very intense.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Christine 12/24/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Predictable poor-kid-wants-to-be-a-boxing-champ theme at the beginning, but then takes a totally unexpected twist. Beware: VERY sad! I cried through the second half. I would have given it 4 stars, but Eastwood & Freeman kept mumbling and I felt like I missed half the dialogue!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/05/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Meh!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I liked this movie until Maggie was put in a coma & then it sucked from there

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

myfaja 08/10/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Depression makes for good movies. Million Dollar Baby deserved every Oscar it got, it even deserved maybe even more. All the actors delivered excellent performances, especially Hilary Swank as Maggie. It's not even the main actors who do great performances, the guy who plays Danger is great too. Million Dollar Baby in the beginning is a very predictable. Maggie is poor and she is really good and she becomes famous. Then it takes an unexpected turn and I'll let you find out the rest for yourself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I noticed that the film began about thirty minutes before it ended, which left me dissatisfied completely. The biggest Oscar upset (along with Jennifer Hudson and anything to do with "Avatar").

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 04/14/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Its a film that reaks of quality. It looks suitably gritty given its film-maker and theme, and there is a real pumping heart at the centre. Hilary Swank is Maggie Fitzgerald. A dreamer with ambition to burn. She meets Clint Eastwoods grizzled boxing trainer and form a struggled friendship that lasts. Morgan Freeman stands ringside throughout offering his cherished tones to the voiceover and some nice scenes with the two main characters. Truly one of the best films to come out of the 00's.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy