Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Midnight Cowboy (1969) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Midnight Cowboy (1969) DVD from AmazonBuy Midnight Cowboy (1969) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Gabe 01/19/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I'm going to keep this short and sweet...I hope. I did not really care for this film. Quite frankly I don't know why it won Best Picture at the Oscars and I don't know why it's considered as great as it is. The acting is great, especially Hoffman. I'm not a huge Jon Voight fan, but he was good. Maybe if I lived in New York, I would "get it." Maybe if I was alive in '69 or had read the book, I would "get it." But since neither of those things have happened, I don't get it! Was this a thing? Did people really move to New York to be gigolos? And, this was pre-AIDS, but Ratso sure acted like he was dying of it. I just don't get it, my rating would've been lower had the acting not been top-notch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

'Midnight Cowboy' is the story of one Texan man's ambition to become a male prostitute in New York City. Things can't go anywhere but down, when that is your starting goal. This is a bleak film with no redemption. I liked it for that reason. The first half represents this well. The events in the second half progressively worsen for the two main characters. I lost interest through this area till the the finale that contained no resolution. If the second half had continued as well as the first, I may have given this four stars.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 09/18/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A gritty, unrelenting look at life in New York City (a character just as important as Dustin Hoffman and Jon Voight in the context of the film). It will leave you a bit depressed but it will also leave a remarkable impact. Worthy of its Oscar win.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 05/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This film is and incredibly powerful and difficult experience. Voight and Hoffman are superb but its so unrelentingly depressing it can hardly be called an "enjoyable" experience! A film everyone must see, if only once.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 11/01/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is a gritty and fascinating story of survival, set in the urban busyness of New York City. Jon Voight and Dustin Hoffman vanish into their roles, creating two memorable characters who find an odd friendship, despite being nearly polar opposites.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Amyaronson 07/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A farm boy (Voight) moves to New York to be a male escort and meets up with a small-time hustler (Hoffman). They become the bestest of friends. Life is rough, they are poor, things are gritty. There's a fun song that plays through the whole thing that WILL get stuck in your head for a very long time. It's SAD. Jon Voight looks like Shiloh Nouvel Jolie-Pitt. Dustin Hoffman is grimy as. Pretty good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 08/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Almost a good movie..., almost.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/22/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I was wary of this movie, because of the rating and subject matter, but the Academy picked a great Best Picture for this year. At least they used to. There is a quick shot of Jon Voight in the shower completely nude (which I'm sure scarred Angelina Jolie for life) but other than that, it's a masterpiece. And he couldn't have done so well without supporting help from Dustin Hoffman. Hopefully and heartbreaking, it's a movie that gets you in its grip and never once lets up.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

philly22 09/14/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Don't listen to Alex. He has Fight Club as his number one. Masterpiece, this.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 02/06/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Hoffman does a great job (as usual) and I was surprised to see Voight so young. The two pair up in this 60's movie reminiscent of the times. Originally rated NC-17, it does have some disturbing parts, but nothing like we are shown today. The story is deep, but slow moving. This one is worth a look if you are into the 60's lifestyle.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2016 Movies by Mr Cinema
Top Thriller Movies by Rod
My Blu Ray Collection by Yojimbo
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Top Sci-Fi Movies by Nolane
Movies Seen by Alena
2005 by Karmand
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy