Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Mars Attacks! (1996) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Mars Attacks! (1996) DVD from AmazonBuy Mars Attacks! (1996) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Ian 09/15/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Great cast and plenty of humor make this an above average sci-fi comedy. The aliens are remorseless bastards, the humans are na´ve and to be mocked, the plots is solid, nothing really wrong here, but nothing phenomenal either.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Indyfreak 07/26/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Tim Burton's worst film and I've seen Planet of the Apes, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Corpse Bride all the way through til the end. Never had there been a blockbuster (or a would-be blockbuster) that was so mean-spirited and hateful and nasty. Yea the special effects are pretty good for 1996 but that's all it has going for it. To have a cast like this (Jack Nicholson, Glenn Close, Annette Bening, Danny DeVito, Pierce Brosnan, Sarah Jessica Parker, Jim Brown, Randy Quaid, Rod Steiger, Michael J. Fox, and Natalie Portman) and give them absolutely NOTHING to do is a TRAGEDY! Tim Burton used to be one of my favorite directors but now he's such a shill for the establishment he once claimed no affiliations with.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 04/05/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The president is assured by his science adviser that their advanced race is peaceful, while his top general warns him that they'll attack. Only one man is right, and it turns out bad for everyone. This movie has good visual effect's in some parts but some of the CG looks really bad, The movie is silly and goofy but It's hard not to enjoy this movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I love Tim Burton and I really wanted to enjoy this film. It's not bad by any means, the gleeful malevolence of the attacking aliens and flagrantly dispensable heroes is all very cute, but it's never more than mildly amusing; never laugh out loud funny. The pro-celebrity cast and one joke script actually gives it the feel of an extended sketch on Saturday Night Live, and the animation of the martians is dubious at best. Generally it comes across as a Gremlins clone with a 50s B-movie spin, but it's actually not as funny as Gremlins. Or Independence Day for that matter.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Some big talent in this movie. I wish I could rate it higher but it felt like all that was missing was a laugh track. Some good moments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Burton follows up his Ed Wood bio-pick with his own version of an Ed Wood style movie. It's intentionally campy, but lacks the fun. Mildly funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/23/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Suprised that I actually enjoyed this movie

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/26/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I may have been missing the satire behind it all, but the B-movie tone came off as cliched and campy to me, rather than suavely poking fun at a specific genre. I found the action too cartoony to be involving and the jokes too stale to be funny. Could be fun for people who understand what Burton is going for, maybe?

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 07/25/2011 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

One of Burton's worst films created. I dig aliens and all, this was a bit too crazy. The Cameos couldn't save this film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 07/13/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I can remember just barely liking this movie a little bit. It just wasn't what I thought it'd be.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy