Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

A Man for All Seasons (1966) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy A Man for All Seasons (1966) DVD from AmazonBuy A Man for All Seasons (1966) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Daniel Corleone 08/17/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Settings, acting and cinematography were splendid. The screenplay and pacing were horrid. It was too difficult to comprehend and enjoy since the figures were coming from here to there. Not this critics cup of tea in terms of biographical dramas. One of the worst Best Picture's created.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Classic period drama and morality tale that is clearly based on a stage play; the acting and dialogue are expertly done, but action junkies will find it rather uneventful.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 10/28/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Classic period drama and morality tale that is clearly based on a stage play; the acting and dialogue are expertly done, but action junkies will find it rather uneventful.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 10/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This is a historical drama that manages to navigate decades of history while making sense of a mess of political and religious intrigue. Paul Scofield plays the central character of Thomas More with a marked grace and integrity. Fat Orson Welles is also devilishly grotesque as a corrupt Cardinal.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 06/06/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

They do not make them like this anymore. Intelligent and virtuous. Every choice in the production of this movie was the right one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ichabod Crane 02/09/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A Man For All Seasons is a film that deserved repeated viewings as it only improves every time one watches it. Scofield is great in the lead role achieving well with his performance as the most dignified and moral man in England. The whole cast is great particularly John Hurt as a weaselly informant, and Robert Shaw who makes a substantial impact as Henry VIII.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 08/21/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I really don't like Fred Zinnemann. He takes an interesting subject to me: Thomas More/King Henry VIII and makes it just so incredibly boring. I knew I didn't like Fred and wanted to avoid it, but it was so critically acclaimed. However, I plan on avoiding all Zinnemanns in the future.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 03/17/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Let's put it this way - I don't remember anything I saw and I saw this movie less than five years ago. Should I give it another chance? Probably. Will I? No.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2012 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy