Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Lost in Translation (2003) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Lost in Translation (2003) DVD from AmazonBuy Lost in Translation (2003) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 15 

Matthew Brady 05/02/2014 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Best movie of 2003. This film is about an actor past his prime and a bored, young wife form an unlikely companionship in Tokyo. This movie had one of the best writing of 2003, The movie had strong two main characters that made the movie more sweet and sad at the same time. The directing is so good that It should have won a Oscar for directing and that's right am saying that lord of the rings the return of the king should have not won a Oscar for directing this movie should had won. The cinematography is so beautiful to look at that it's hard to take your eyes off the screen for one second.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Camper 02/16/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

What an honest and quiet film. My favorite bits were the scenes without dialogue, and there were just enough of those. When you see a Japanese meal, or you see bits of ice melting and clinking in a glass and you know it's supposed to be alcohol but in reality it's only iced tea. That was the entire movie for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Nolane 09/23/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

"Lost In Translation" is easily one of the worst movies ever made. Every aspect of this movie is awful, from the wretched direction of Sofia Coppola (who obviously has none of her dad's talent), to the lame acting (Bill Murray is a lot better in movies like "Ghostbusters"), to the story which goes nowhere, to the slow pacing. How this movie got so many great reviews is beyond me. A pointless and utterly boring exercise in nothingness. I absolutely despised every frame of this vomitus movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/05/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Meh. Never saw what the fuss was all about.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Though often slow-moving, a very different Bill Murray is the glue that holds this poignant reflection together. His portrayal of an aging actor exudes regret, desire, and thoughtfulness at the right moments. The film's pace may be its downfall to some viewers, but it is also the movie's strength, as it allows the quiet emotional beats that the film juggles to hit home.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/11/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Subtle, but emotionally effective. Murray and Johansson are surprisingly good together.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 01/27/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I didn't really understand this movie. But, it did keep me interested throughout.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 05/01/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Eh, this movie was okay...not that great. I wish it was less pretentious.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 06/05/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

With all the hype about this show, I guess I expected something, well, good. I suppose it's supposed to be artsy but I found it long and tedious.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

ventilatorblues 10/22/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Sometimes movie needs no action, violence or big talk. Lost in translation may be different from many of my other favs, but I love it really much. It's beautiful, it's real. It's about how people are lost and how they want to be found. Tokyo is like an another universe to them, and when two strangers meet they feel something new. In my opinion Lost in Translation is utterly beautiful and wise movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy