Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Rod 07/31/2015 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Entertaining enough for some laughs but not so much entertaining for those who don't follow Wes Anderson's films.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 09/10/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Another Anderson picture that I couldn't fully get behind. Even Bill Murray's usual dry persona didn't serve as much humor here. However, I still enjoyed certain moments and the David Bowie soundtrack was pleasant.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/23/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

With the familiar absurdist eye for awkward comedy, Wes Anderson paints a colorful and exciting journey of an oceanographer and his team as they search for a mythical creature. The film manages to inject some human emotion in amongst the funnier and sillier moments. I love Anderson's skill at finding the moving amid the strange and, especially with this film, I also love his color pallette and choice of shot framing. One of the director's best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I expected this movie to be funny but I was bored

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I'm concerned about myself. I am starting to get very sleepy halfways through movies. This one starts off slow and subtle and would be easy to write off, but the rescue scene alone makes this movie worthwhile. And really, how many filmmakers are shooting movies about marine biologists? Kudos for trying something different.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

My least favorite Wes Anderson film to date. A truly pretentious work.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 10/07/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I loved this movie. The story, the actors, the attn. to detail? All good. And very enjoyable. I knew the first time that I'd want to see this a second time. I can't wait to watch it again. Owen Wilson is very good in the lead.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/03/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

WS flicks are pretentious to my taste. I don't know. It seems they always lack of something. This one is a great technical achievement, has a nice easygoing story, but ultimately pointless and stupid.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 02/21/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

May not have quite the same oomph as Wes Anderson's earlier work, but Life Aquatic keeps his unique nature alive and makes for an unforgettable film with Anderson's quircky cast of characters and a strange set of adventures.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth
2016 by Karmand
Top Movie List by SIngli6
Movies I watched for the Nth time by Rod
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Fantastic French Films I Have Seen by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy