Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Daniel Corleone 02/20/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

This reviewer recalls to be entertaining enough because of its clever "situations" where the kids escape from death. Carrey was a bit over the top in his portrayal. Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events is a decent watch.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Doesn't quite work in all aspects, but the children are okay and Carrey has some good moments.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

dukeakasmudge 09/22/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

It wasnt as bad as I thought it was gonna be

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/28/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Doesn't quite succeed at the macabre level of humor of, say, a Tim Burton film, but the visual pallette is fun and so is seeing stars like Meryl Streep and Jim Carrey lose themselves in ridiculously over the top roles.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 12/31/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I haven't read the books so I can't comment on how the movie did or did not destroy them. From the perspective of someone who had no idea what the story was even about before they saw the show, I thought it was pretty good. Carrey is very funny as the horrible Count Olaf. The sets and scenery are creative and clever. It's one of those shows I get a good laugh from again and again. Even the animation at the end of the show (with the credits) is really imaginative and entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

bwill 09/09/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

This movie takes an amazingly clever and funny series of children's books and destroys its soul. Jim Carrey is a talented actor who's shown range ("Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" and "The Truman Show") but using him for this was a bad choice. It's not Carrey's fault -- he's good for over-the-top laughs (and I'm a fan). But the books had so little to do with the "antics" of Olaf. I mean, HE WAS TRYING TO KILL THE ORPHANS. They were never light-hearted and allowing Carrey to ham it up took everything from the books. Yuck.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

frenchfreyteetor 05/29/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Unfortunate that is was a really bad movie. I am so glad they didn't make more.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 07/25/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I loved this movie when it came out. And the only thing that disappointed me about it is that in choosing Jim Carrey for the lead role of Count Olaf it guaranteed that there would not be a sequel, at least not one with him in it. While I admire the decision Carrey made not to do sequels (He didn't have enough pull in the Ace Ventura years so that is the only exception) it looks like it could hurt what is supposed to be a great series. This movie covered only the first 3 books, and there are still more in the series which would have definitely made for another great movie. Definitely check this one out if you haven't seen it, as it is absolutely fascinating.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 07/20/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I haven't read the books, but this seems pretty dark for a kids novel (or series of them). It's kind of gothic, comedic and adventurous. It took Harry Potter three films to get this interesting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy