Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

L.A. Confidential (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy L.A. Confidential (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy L.A. Confidential (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Gabe 06/19/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A wonderful film with a great cast. Everybody involved was at their best in this engrossing film. Even after seeing this film multiple times it never gets old. The cinematography is breathtaking and the screenplay deservedly won the Academy Award. This tale of corruption in the Los Angeles police department in 1950 will grab hold of you and it won't let go until the credits roll. Russell Crowe has never been better, and yes I'm including the overrated Gladiator in that statement. This is a must see that ran into the juggernaut that was Titanic that year at the Academy Awards, although I prefer Boogie Nights out of all movies released in 1997.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Matthew Brady 02/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A rookie "do good" cop investigates murders and corruption in LA, while other cops do the same, trying to figure out the shooter and the corruption. This movie has a excellent cast and characters and acting.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 02/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

L.A. Confidential is a thoroughly engrossing mystery journey into the seedy side of Los Angeles. Not only does it feature some stellar acting, but some sharply funny moments as well, thanks in part to the sharp writing. The ensemble cast creates some memorable characters that populate this neo-noir landscape. One of my all-time favorites.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great crime noir.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Film Rebel 10/20/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This should've won best picture over Titanic. This is a true masterpiece cop thriller. One of the best of the 90s.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 10/08/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I don't remember much about this movie. I just remember liking it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 08/17/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Great movie. Probably the best detective movie since Chinatown. With great performances all around, most notably from the Oscar winning performance of Basinger, you shouldn't miss this movie. In my personal top 10.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

A really good film with a Veronica Lake lookalike (Kim Basinger). I've heard it's tough to make your hair look like Veronica's. In the process her hair fell out and that beautiful hair you see is a wig. The supporting cast is great. I even try not to let Russell Crowe bother me to much.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 10/24/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Not a big deal of a movie. When it got the Oscars nominations, and I started to read about the cast, the acting and "oh so great" script, I was pissed because I've lost it on the big screen. Then I rented and I was so much hype... pity. I was disappointed by it. It's not a bad movie. It has a solid story and great performances. But, I think is one of the most overrated movies ever.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

jmoney1776 10/24/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I saw L.A. Confidential in the theater when I was 17. It's ten years later and I don't think I've seen a better movie than it since. This is just one of those movies that fires on every level. Acting, directing, writing, cinematography, costume design, soundtrack, it is almost flawless. It's always shocking to me how many people haven't seen this movie. Had it not come out in the year of the Titanic it would have probably swept the oscars and be more well remembered than it is. If you haven't seen this movie then do yourself a favor and check it out.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew
Movies I Want To See by Rod
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy