Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Kung Fu Hustle (2005) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Kung Fu Hustle (2005) DVD from AmazonBuy Kung Fu Hustle (2005) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 11 

Kumara 01/26/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Amazing move....very funny. It is a must watch for people who want some humour in their kungfu !

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 07/15/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Kung Fu Hustle is a brilliant visual journey - exhilarating and hilarious from start to finish. The film is not only a parody of kung fu and action films, but a powerful and inventive martial arts film in its own right. Every scene is packed with sight gags and visual creativity and the film plays like a live action Looney Tunes cartoon.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 11/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

It's like live action Looney Tunes with CG, wire fighting kung-fu. Weird and funny.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 07/10/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Saw this in theaters when it came out. I laughed really hard, felt the cartoon element was too childish and the plot/romantic element was too light. It's cast knew how to bring the funny scenes out. The brand of humor was unique and clever at the same time. Costumes used were well thought of. The style of directing was okay, could have removed the silly parts to make this one of the best action comedy films made.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

deadfish90 05/04/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Amazing movie!! I couldn't believe how much fun it is to sit through and watch the movie again and again. The mixing of action, comedy, and a little bit of sadness are perfectly juxtaposed. I recommend this movie to anyone who wants a good time. I found this movie in a clearance section of a used DvD store for two dollars... fools! I would have gladly played eight!! All I can finally say about this film is that the world needs more like it. A lighthearted comedy with just cool characters and situations. P.S. The old guy in the film (main villain, the "Demon") can be seen in the Jean Claude Van Damme film, Bloodsport. He plays the buffed out bad guy in that one!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Watch the immensely funnier Shaolin Soccer instead; this movie was overhyped. They went way over the top on violence, there's too much CGI, and a hero to root for is missing for the majority of the movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

CJP 09/19/2008 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Action: 3 / 3 + Comedy: 2 / 2 + Good vs Evil: 1 / 1 + Love/Sex: 0.5 / 1 + Special Effects: 0.5 / 1 + Plot: 1 /1 + Music: 1 / 1 = 9 / 10 or 90%. Kung-Fu Hustle is a rare blend of action and comedy that flow together seamlessly. It is an exception to the rule, like Ghost Busters before it, where big time special effects do not detract from the story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

lmlewis517 06/22/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I liked Kung Fu Hustle so much that I ran out to get Kung Fu Majhong 1 and 2. I love a good slapstick comedy and this fits the bill as a brilliantly put-together action, comedy, fantasy movie. I bought it for a good friend of mine when he was down in the dumps. Funny movie, great laughs and some other fun scenes! Like the special effects, too.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 08/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Well done Stephen Chow, Well done. You have managed to make a beautiful kung fu movie with not only great fighting, but humor as well. The outlandish heroes are great and unexpected. I thought this was going to be like Kung Pow, but nay -- It was masterpiece compared to that piece of crap. Still I can only give you 3/4 stars because I am a prick. Keep up the good work. PS. I would love to see a sequel with a midget that shoots projectile fingernails.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 07/27/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I loved this movie. Stephen Chow is a brilliant man when it comes to comedy he knows his stuff. The thing that I found to be most unique about this film is the ammount of CGI that was used. Nearly every gag, and every fight scene was loaded with all kinds of CGI, and it was expertly done. Some of the smallest effects used CGI such as the knives that got stuck into Sing's arms and body, they were all CGI, most of the guns were CG, and even a number of the times when the landlord lady (Wah Yuen) was talking the cigarette in her mouth was CGI, and that would become apparent before she would do the "Lions Roar". And amazingly fun movie. Well worth the watch!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
2013 by Karmand
movies of 2017 by skater4159
Movies Watched by Sunbutt

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy