Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

House of Flying Daggers ( Shi mian mai fu ) (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy House of Flying Daggers ( Shi mian mai fu ) (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy House of Flying Daggers ( Shi mian mai fu ) (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Zeborah 04/13/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Very pretty, but a bit slow-paced and thin. Plus I've never been one for either the torn-between-two-loves trope or the ready-to-risk-all-for-love trope. (Also, the dubbing was technically good but artistically terrible and between the two very distracting; should be watched with subtitles.)

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 12/16/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

More of the high-flying stylized Asian fighting here. It's about as good as the rest of them.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Bribaba 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The House of Flying Daggers is a great title for any film, and in this case the finished article more than lives up to the promise suggested. The sets, the lighting, the costumes, the set-pieces; it makes you realise how audiences must have felt when they first encountered sound. The action sequences are astonishing, even though it's essentially a love story. That's quite enough in itself, but there's also a political allegory running lightly in the background. Light enough, at least, for the film to be considered suitable for export, unlike some of Zimou's earlier, more trenchant works. The beauty of this film is that can be enjoyed on many different levels and, hopefully, by many different people.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 01/13/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

The story is above average for a martial arts film, but the real star of the film is the beautiful cinematography and choreographed shots that are transcendent. Not as good as Zhang's Hero, but a wonderful experience nonetheless.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

safari kate 02/03/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I first saw this movie for an Architecture History class, and what really struck me was the use of color as a way to support the mood of the scenes. The color and density of the background, along with other visual cues, did as much for the storyline as the musical score does in most movies. I specifically felt that the changes in scene corresponded extremely well with the plot twists and action scenes. Each scene seemed fresh, and I especially enjoyed the stark white snow of the final action scene. Overall, this is a beautiful movie, and although I am generally not a fan of films in this vein, I really enjoyed it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/21/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

It was way better than I thought. Worth a watch if you like films in the Crouching Tiger vein.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 11/20/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Better than CTHD with the same style of combat. The plot had some nice twists and turns and the battles were more engaging. Must see if you like martial arts movies that are almost supernatural.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 08/17/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I would say this is the weakest out of the Hong Kong action films that I have seen - but you can't deny the beauty of the choreography and use of color for which it is worth it to watch at least once.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/05/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Along the lines of CTHD, HoFD is not nearly as good. Using the same style of fighting and even some of the same actors, I was expecting more. I think now, this movie may have ruined my expectations for these Hong Kong style films. Average.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Top Movie List by Michael
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
2017 by Randall
2013 by Karmand
Movies I've Seen by M3tr4nk0
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Best Horror Films of all Time by cacb3995
Top Movie List by Seth

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy