Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Golden Compass (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Golden Compass (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy The Golden Compass (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

Matthew Brady 08/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Worst film ever made.it was just boring nothing happen's in this movie just talking.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/17/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

There are a lot of potentially inventive moments in this film, but the atmosphere and casting is uninspired and dull. Visuals are, at times, pretty to look at, and the score is sweeping and listenable. A fantasy film that exists to go through the motions.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 10/21/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

The only saving grace of this film was Nicole Kidman's psycho monkey that even haunted a dream or two I've had. Other than that, a waste of time.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GJ81 06/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

Within 10 minutes ofwatching this movie, I had no idea what was going on whatsoever. And worse, i didn't care at all. So for the next hour and a half i tried to go on visuals and moments, and even they were dull. This is a terribly dire 'family' movie that i can't see children enjoying very much. If they do make the next two movies, i'll give them a miss. This one didn't pull me in at all.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

goodgirl997 03/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The movie was overall pretty good. I loved all the animals in it (except for the monkey, it kinda creeped me out). The plot was a little hard to follow, but once you understood it the movie was actually pretty good. You can't wait to see what happens next. I was a little disapointed when it ended, and how it ended. But I loved how the animals talked with voices that fitted them (unlike some movies).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

sapien 02/19/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

It was much better than some of the reviews I've seen on it. But, it's still not all that great.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 12/28/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is an Oscar winner compared to any of the Narnia Flicks. Hell, I might even call it as good as return of the King given the Kings 5 or 6 continual endings. A great surprise for fantasy lovers. Quite good actually.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 05/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I feel kind of bad for this movie because I think it could have been great. At times it feels like it was once a 3 hour movie that was quickly cut down to two hours. Most of the religious allegory has been dropped for fear of controversy's sake, and I think if it had embraced it a little more the movie would have made more sense. It has a very open-ended ending, which makes sense because it's part of a trilogy, but perhaps some changes should have been made if the studio hadn't committed yet to filming the entire trilogy. The special effects are great, but the whole time I felt like I wanted something more from Compass.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

danbuell 05/04/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I like the whiskey drinking bear but the rest of this movie is convoluted, hard to follow and overly bizarre…

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My viewing tracker list. by James
Movies of 2015 by Stoney McStonerson
Best Movies of the 2010s by Mr Cinema
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy