Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

High Fidelity (2000) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy High Fidelity (2000) DVD from AmazonBuy High Fidelity (2000) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

FSUNoles27TS 02/28/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I enjoyed this film. It was very slow moving throughout, but that wasn't too bad as you get to sit back and listen to a great soundtrack and have a few laughs. John Cusack was great as the self-loathing and insecure adult obsessed with music and the past. I recommend this movie for music lovers and people who like more realisticly timed movies.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

High Fidelity is a snarky and sarcastic comedy that will appeal to music and comedy lovers alike. John Cusack harks back to his 1980's heyday of playing witty and music-obsessed characters. The film is an ode to broken hearts for the hipster generation, populated with funny supporting performances and a great soundtrack.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/21/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This film mostly amounts to discussions of past relationships, break-ups and music. A rom-com that is not structured in the formula of the genre and is relatable at times. It had a fair amount of laughs and the dialogue was always entertaining.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 05/30/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Essentially a male version of a chick flick, with a great soundtrack and interesting, if somewhat depressing, characters. John Cusack and Jack Black play their respective parts great, if a bit on the jaded side. Still, it works for me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A quirky, dark drama. Cusack is good but a little to depressing to garner any real sympathy. His supporting cast makes this film -- Jack Black and Todd Louiso as the record store employees.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 12/21/2007 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

I really didn't like it, despite it being musically themed and written by Nick Hornby. Maybe its because it was written from a male point of view, finding fault with women, when more of the fault was with him (he didn't have his act together). At least Jack Black tried, but John Cusack's character was ridiculous.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

GGauthier 09/10/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I really like to watch this film over and over again. It seems to never gets old, and it's a smart and refreshing comedy with some romance touches. John Cusack is really good and Jack Black is hilarious. Great adaptation from the book. I feel specially identified with the character since I use to make lists for everything too. Define the film with one word: Cool.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 07/05/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Finally, another good John Cusack film. Jack Black begins to shine here as well. I was entertained through out, even if the formula is not all that original. Very solid.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
My Wish List by goodguy28
Top 2016 by frenchfreyteetor
2015 Movies by Mr Cinema
2015 by Karmand
Top Films of 2012 by Neobowler
Movies First Seen in 2017 by royaluglydudes
Top Movie List by Seth
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy