Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001) DVD from AmazonBuy Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 13 

Matthew Brady 01/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

Based on the book by J.K. Rowling. A boy finds out he is a wizard and that he was excepted to the Magic School, Hogwarts. It's a year filled with finding new friends and learning about new and old enemies. This movie has cartoonist visual effect's and corner writing but the movie has a sweet heart to it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A little lighter than the later (and superior) films, but this was a great entry for the franchise. Pure magical fun!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Yojimbo 09/24/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

A serviceable enough children's film but it's just crammed with rehashed, cliched old ideas and obvious sight gags and decorated with over-used and terribly dated CGI. Why anyone over the age of twelve should concern themselves with such juvenile escapism is extremely puzzling to me.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

johnny black 08/10/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After seeing this film it was clear to me that this was the beginning of a serious pop culture phenomenon. clever humor and wonderfully entertaining fantasy.great film

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 04/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A great start to a spectacular series: the first Harry Potter film sets the tone for the films to come. It's full of comedy, energy, amazing visuals, and some fun and familiar characters. One of the series' most magical and best entries.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

So very faithful to the book and a great starting point for the film series. Gets everything right that an introduction film should. It's entertaining enough, but the kid friendly nature gives no feeling of danger and there is a slight absence in emotion. All that aside, it's still full of good fun and whimsy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/20/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Accurate and brilliant. A great family flick that I watch every single time I catch it on ABC Family.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 07/10/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I good, but not great adaptation of the book. Chris Columbus has to cut some scenes from the novel. As an introduction to what has become a pretty good film franchise this is great fun. But, John Williams, it sounds like just got lazy with his score, if you listen hard enough you can here a few themes from Star Wars in it.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Shelly 02/25/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

After reading the other movie reviews, I am disappointed that many other people did not share my zest for this fresh new movie. Not onlly were the effects amazing to watch, the plot line followed the book - which is unusual since it was so long of a book. I enjoyed the acting, the plot, and the effects and have actually watched the movie numerous times. One that I will see again and again!!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 07/24/2007 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I had never read the books when I saw the movie. I didn't know what to expect as I was under the impression that the books would be just too childish. I finally read them after Goblet of Fire was in print. Needless to say I am hooked. I like that they decided to stick with a mostly unknown cast, with the exception of Richard Harris and Robbie Coltrane the rest of the cast was not one that many Americans could identify as people they have seen before in any truely memorable roles. This has been a great establishing point for the 3 primary characters, now to see if they can escape the "Star Wars Curse" that kept many of the actors pigeonholed into specific characters.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
2010 by Karmand
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
My Wish List by hoods_breath

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy