Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) DVD from AmazonBuy Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 8 of 8 

Matthew Brady 01/18/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

In his third year at Hogwarts, Harry has to deal with the escape of Sirius Black from the wizard prison of Azkaban, the man said to have betrayed his parents to Voldemort. best harry potter yet just a well shot movie with a fantastic director like "Alfonso Cuaron".

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

worleyjamers 06/29/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I don't think this is my favorite HP film, but it certainly is one of the best. Alfonso Cuaron's direction is what holds The Prisoner of Azkaban together There are many brilliant sequences throughout the film, but there are also some moments where I felt the jumbled plot could have ruined the film, but Cuaron's vision and direction holds it all together and makes for a wonderful viewing experience. This film lacks some of the magic that the first films had, but the performances, writing, direction, cinematography, and tone are all spot-on. Really liked it!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 05/30/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is a darker and more mature Harry Potter, the start of the franchise moving into more serious territory. The acting is more emotionally-reflective and director Alfonso Cuaron focuses more on drawing tortured performances (namely out of Oldman), while still maintaining the series' magical visual style.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 06/15/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Was my favorite of the Harry Potter films, before Deathly Hallows Pt.1. It not only serves as another great adaptation, but also takes the extra step above and beyond the story itself to create a great film. The change in directors paid off and helped the series go where it needed to. I'm partial to this one, because it is also my favorite book in the series. The third act is one of the coolest and most surprising of all the stories.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I was severely disappointed in Alfonso Cuaron.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 07/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

The movie where the franchise takes the next step and goes from kiddie fare, to a much darker place. The acting is much better than the first two. And as with the books, this is the general direction that the series will go.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

The Dude 06/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This movie is the third installment in a seven movie (and book) saga. It is harry's third year at hogwarts and has to deal with the fact that Sirius Black (Lord Voldemorts supposed second in command) has escaped from prison. I was and still am i lover of the harry potter novels and this movie is truest to the plot in the book than the other four that i have seen. The plot is complex and intriguing and suitable for pretty much all ages. Good for the whole family to enjoy or if your a bit of a nerd like me you can do just the same by yourself.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 05/23/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

WIth a new director and new vision, the 3rd Harry Potter film finally gets away from slavishly recreating the novels and gets into the meat of the story. The acting is much improved, though not perfect. My favorite of this series thus far.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
Top Films of 2007 by Neobowler
2016 by Karmand
Movies of 2012 by Stoney McStonerson
Recent Movies To See by Mr Cinema
Movies to Watch by royaluglydudes
Superhero Films by SIngli6
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy