Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Hairspray (2007) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Hairspray (2007) DVD from AmazonBuy Hairspray (2007) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 14 

Matthew Brady 09/08/2014 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Hairspray the 2007 remake is a fun musical that fans of the original will enjoy, but me I thought it's a Matinee film.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Rod 05/27/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

Fun and enjoyable musical!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

gzn 12/29/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I love this musical. The story is strong and meaningful and the very serious 'message' is delightfully gift-wrapped. Brilliantly cast, the songs are irresistibly toe-tapping with many a clever pastiche including Seaweed's evocation of Marvin Gaye. John Travolta paced his role to perfection. I wish they would bring out a DVD with dance routines to learn and song words - perfect rainy day entertainment!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 10/31/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

Upbeat and fun. A lighthearted musical that has some good song and dance.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 11/15/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A campy fun musical with a message of equality. The original hairspray is good, but I think I prefer the remake. John Travolta and Christopher Walken are very funny together. Adam Shankman did a really good job with the movie and it still works now.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 08/18/2009 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie in every way. I saw the show on stage and didn't think it would do well as a movie [and despite popular belief, the 1988 version wasn't a musical] in its new form. I will say that when I found out that John Travolta was going to be Edna, I kinda made a vomit face [you know the one I mean], but was pleasantly surprised when it all worked out. Adam Shankman is a great director/choreographer and the cast is just pleasant as peach punch and engaging as I'll get out. A great flick to take your chick to.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Purplicious81 03/16/2009 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

An outstanding movie with the classic Broadway plot! The songs are amazing, the dancing is phenomenal, and the acting is spontaneous. Makes you want to jump up on your feet and start doing all the old dances. It's very colorful and a very nice family flick to watch when you're in a down mood. I recommend this movie to everyone if you haven't seen it already, you need to! Enjoy!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ollievee79 08/08/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie is pure fun. You can't help but smile and feel good when you watch it. The music is catchy, the costumes and sets are bright and colorful, and the story is sweet. This movie was hysterical too. John Travolta gets on my nerves, but I was able to over look that fact because the rest of the cast is great. I also liked the fact that this movie had a message without beating you over the head with it. It found a way to get it's message of equality across in a fun way. It rocked!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Hidde 06/16/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Fun to watch. I didn't really like the story but i like the music, it's catchy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

thewhiteraven 04/07/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

A lot of my friends had watched this movie and seemed to love it, so I decided to watch it... And I could easily see why they loved it. Having never seen the older version of it or the musical, I really had no clue what the movie was about so I didn't have any expectations. The catchy tunes actually make you want to dance even if you've never wanted to before. It was a little corny and unbelievable at times but that's all part of the fun!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
Movies I Want To See by dadams
Top Movie List by Marugo
2009 by Karmand
To See: 2017 Movies by Alex
My Wish List by bigboy89
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
Top Movie List by Seth
My Wish List by Andrew

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy