Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

Gone with the Wind (1939) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy Gone with the Wind (1939) DVD from AmazonBuy Gone with the Wind (1939) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 10 

Snoogans 06/04/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Yes, it is a good drama, but it's one that doesn't need to be three hours long. The film just drags in too many spots and I lost most all sympathy for Scarlett. When Rhett says that famous line, at the end of the film, I felt like I couldn't agree more with him.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alaine 12/16/2011 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

I must have fallen on my head too many times growing up. Frankly, I just think this film is OK. I don't know why I can't fawn over it. All filmsters must watch it at least once.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

patjohnson76 11/28/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

It's been awhile since I've seen this classic all the way through, but this past Thanksgiving I caught a majority of it on TV and it is still one of the greatest films in history. To think it was created in 1939 is astounding as it still holds up well today (but then again, so do a lot of films from 1939, the greatest year in film history). Plenty of iconic lines, characters, actors, and shots - the scene of the silhouetted Scarlet at the end of Part One stands out. Truly one of the best.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

There's a lot to like in this iconic film. The performances are charming and nuanced, somehow becoming more than a telling of a cookie-cutter romance. The cinematography, particularly, is impressive, especially the scenes involving the Civil War battlefield.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/18/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

I like epic films, but the good ones (Lawrence of Arabia - Ghandi come to mind) have the scope, but also have pacing. The problem with Gone With the Wind is that it's an epic that drags - I know I have to struggle not to fall asleep. A classic, but one that I find it hard to live up to its billing.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheManWithNoName 09/10/2009 (0 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I deplore this movie. Scarlett O'Hara may just be the biggest whore in the history of cinema but people praise her character!? WTF? Also since I'm pretty much everything the South was for in the Civil War, I don't like that this film tends to glorify them (and I live somewhat in the south).

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Freddie 10/25/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I thought this movie was going to be horrible and boring. However, it turned out to be really good. I really loved it. It was really long, but I was actually okay sitting through it. It's a nice story. I actually wouldn't mind watching it again.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Gabe 07/27/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I probably should've only given the movie 2.5 or 3 stars, but the cinematography is beautiful. However, Vivien Leigh made me want to put a bullet in my head. Kudos to the Academy though for giving Hattie McDaniel an Oscar for best supporting actress, she was the first African American to win one.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Alex 01/07/2007 (2 of 6 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I started watching this movie in 2001 and I woke up in 2002 and it was still playing. To me, it was boring and very very over acted. It may be a "classic" (what is a cliassic?) but it is dated!

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Josh C 12/11/2006 (1 of 1 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This Civil War drama is an oldie but a goody. There is good reasons this movie is still the number one grossing movie of all time (inflation adjusted). Simply put, it is just a great story.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2013 Movies by Mr Cinema
Movies Watched by Sunbutt
2016 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
My Wish List by hoods_breath
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
2002 by Karmand
movies of 2018 by skater4159
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy