Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

The Godfather: Part II (1974) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy The Godfather: Part II (1974) DVD from AmazonBuy The Godfather: Part II (1974) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 10 of 16 

Matthew Brady 09/17/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Michael Corleone: "If you don't listen to me and marry this man, you'll disappoint me". The godfather: part 2 is one of the best squeal's ever made to cinema. The acting is outstanding and the characters feel like real people and not movie characters.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 03/09/2013 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

Although it doesn't have quite the iconic imagery and nature of the first film, the Godfather: Part II is a richer, more full tale that dives more into the tragic and revenge-filled backstory behind the Corleone family. The acting is fantastic as the franchise adds the inimitable talents of Robert De Niro, and the production design and atmosphere is as deep and involving as ever. The film doesn't have the guttural punch of the first film's moments of brutality, but it does benefit from a longer and more in depth approach to the crime family.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

FSUNoles27TS 12/06/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

This movie does surpass the first, due to one thing only... the acting. The entire cast was amazing and exploded on screen making this a more fun and exciting watch than the first. The writing, directing, score, and everything in between lived up to the amazingness of the first.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 03/31/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

This is a longer and even richer continuation of the first 'Godfathe'r film. A quiet compelling character piece of the father and son. At once and prequel and sequel, the events of each one's journey to lead this crime family run parallel in story telling format. Yet, this is even longer and more drawn out than the previous. So much feels slow and sluggish, making it hard for me to invest. It has a terrific end, but the journey to get there is a bit rocky. I'm one of the few that do not prefer this over Part I.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Moviehead 03/25/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

First movie is better. But second is for sure among the best gangser films ever. What is better in this movie is that it also tells story of young vito which makes it kind of more epic than first one. I love this movie also because of michael, great character, i love when he is thinking how to outsmart his enemies, and he always does it. I am very annoyed by diane keaton and she play bitch very well.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

donkeyknight 05/03/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I have officially reached the point where it takes me 3 nights to make it through a long movie. Maybe that is to blame, but I was not impressed by this. Another case of "Why make this movie?" It just shows the further downward spiral of corruption. I think that point was already made well by the first movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Chris Kavan 03/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

I see why people call this the greatest sequel ever made - because, as near as I can tell, it is the greatest sequel ever made. It's like the took everything that worked from the first and just kicked it up a notch. Fantastic in every way.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Katie D. 10/19/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

Such a let down from the amazing original Godfather. The storyline for present Michael was boring and tore my favorite character to shreds. Most of the characters I didn't give a crap about. The past storyline about Michael's family was a little bit interesting but not enough to save the movie. Watch the Godfather, know that he kills his older brother Frado, and then skip to the much better third movie.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Spielbergian 10/03/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

A fantastic masterpiece that I consider better than the original.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

PsychoKing1227 04/06/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
4/4 

The only film that rivals this in terms of cinematic brilliance is Francis Ford Coppola's "The Godfather: Part 1," and is one of the few films that can always be watched for a good sense of humor, intrigue, thrills, and brilliant, awe-striking performances by Al Pacino and Robert De Niro. De Niro shines through his predecessor's performance and does equally, if not even better. A great crime drama.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1  2  Next  
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 Rated and Ranked by Chris Kavan
Watched in 2017 by tonks76
Movies of 2017 by Stoney McStonerson
Top Movie List by Ben
2017: Best to Worst by Nolane
Top Drama Movies by Rod
Movies I've Watched by Muskurana
Top Movie List by SIngli6

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy