Create Game Lists on MeltedJoystick.com
FilmCrave home
   Movies  Members
Search +
Searching... Close  
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
  
 
  Login Using Facebook
Twitter
 
     
 

George of the Jungle (1997) Movie Reviews

Your Rating:
 
 
Buy George of the Jungle (1997) DVD from AmazonBuy George of the Jungle (1997) DVD from Amazon  Add to List: Add to movie listWrite Review +Request correction +Submit a plot +

Quick Movie Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 

MovieAddict 12/09/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2/4 

A clumsy ape man George (played by Brendan Fraser) who can’t seem to avoid crashing into trees survived a plane crash when he was a baby and is raised by a wise ape. One day he encounters a beautiful damsel in distress Ursula (Leslie Mann) who joins her fiancé Lyle (Thomas Haden Church) in his perilous adventure across African wilderness. George falls in love with her despite their differences in lifestyles. But will he leave his beloved jungle to win her affections and adapt to civilization??? A good-natured, family-oriented comedy and there are lots of laughs with John Cleese as a talking gorilla called Ape and an awesome narration from Keith Scott who is hilarious as the sardonic narrator.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Daniel Corleone 08/16/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

This critic remembered how unappealing and dull this film was when it first showed. George (Brendan Fraser) has a talking gorilla named Ape, a toco toucan named Tookie, Little Monkey (played by Crystal), and an African elephant named Shep. The plot was ridiculous, humor was dry and acting just horrendous. This reviewer recalls having a few yawns during its viewing. George of the Jungle was not entertaining in most aspects.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Snoogans 04/07/2012 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
2.5/4 

Clever and funny. Though, I do think that it is outdone by the very similar Dudley Do-Right.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

mitchellyoung 08/02/2011 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

I think the cartoon series this film is based on might be slightly funnier, but not by much. The pickings are pretty slim here and this was the start of Brendan Fraser's fall from grace.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Ikkinbot 07/15/2010 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1/4 

George of the jungle just didn't work in this format. Brendan Fraser may be the most hit or miss actor for me . . .

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

serioussir 05/20/2008 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
1.5/4 

I don't know why Brendan Frasier insists on being in really stupid films, but here's another. The only thing good I can say about this one is that Frasier looks really good.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

Allison 11/16/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
0.5/4 

Really, I can't imagine anything more stupid. The most memorable moment was when the girl looked at George in a towel and then the towel dropped. Yeah. well. Brendan Fraser was dumb. That too.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

TheWolf 08/04/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3/4 

I think this movie was a great depiction of the original cartoon. The humor used in the film is very much like what would be found in cartoons, and is designed to be taken that way. Brendan Fraser does a great interpretation of the cartoon classic. The movie is funny, and creative. The cast is great, aside from Brendan Fraser, you have Leslie Mann playing Ursula, George's love interest. You also have Thomas Hayden Church playing Lyle, Ursula's husband to be, and the protagonist of the movie. I loved this movie, I've seen it a number of times, and its one that kids and adults will enjoy.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 

frenchfreyteetor 08/02/2007 (0 of 0 found this helpful)

Rating of
3.5/4 

This is one of my favorite Disney live action movies. It' a cute and a little silly too.

Write comment +View all reviews + Was this review helpful? Yes   No
 
 
1    
 
 
Log In
Help on how to log into FilmCrave
Login with Facebook
Login with FilmCrave
 
 
What Members Are Doing
Movie Talk
New Movie Reviews
New Movie Lists
2017 by Karmand
Movies I've Watched by Chris Ghost
To See by Amber
Must Watch: Horror by Daniela Moraes
2013 Movies by Mr Cinema
My War Stories by Carol
Movies I've Seen by Jesús
movies of 1965 by skater4159

 

 

 

Contact FilmCrave Public Relations    

Advertise and Business

Developer API

Contact Us

Jobs

About us

SiteMap

 

Support FilmCrave

FAQ and Help

News and Press

Terms of Use

Privacy